skip to main content

Auto Burglary & Theft Prevention Authority

Auto Burglary & Theft Prevention Authority

The Auto Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority (ABTPA) has fostered a statewide cooperative network of law enforcement groups, prosecutors, insurance industry representatives, local tax assessor-collectors, and concerned citizens to combat vehicle theft and burglary through enforcement, prevention, public information, and education initiatives. In addition to providing guidance and oversight, ABTPA awards financial grants to agencies, organizations, and concerned parties in an effort to raise public awareness of vehicle theft and burglary and implement education and prevention initiatives.


Established by the 72nd Texas Legislature in 1991, the Texas Automobile Theft Prevention Authority (ATPA) became the first statewide effort to reduce auto theft. The 80th Legislature amended the ATPA mission in House Bill 1887 to also emphasize reducing vehicle burglaries. The resulting agency, the Texas Auto Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority (ABTPA), is charged with assessing automobile burglary, theft, and economic theft (burglary or theft committed for financial gain) in Texas, analyzing the methods and providing financial support to combat the problems. In 2009, the ABTPA became part of the newly established Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.

ABTPA Grantees


Insurance Fraud Committee

The Insurance Fraud Committee comprises representatives from insurance companies, Office of the Attorney General, Texas Department of Insurance, and law-enforcement agencies that address the growing problem of insurance fraud. The Committee identifies goals that address issues relating to vehicle theft “give-ups or walkaways,” arson, VIN switches, and insurance fraud.

Grantee Advisory Committee

The Grantee Advisory Committee considers matters of concern to both grantees and the ABTPA, leveraging the experience, knowledge, and legal insight of law enforcement professionals to address the problem of auto theft.

Border Solutions Committee

The Border Solutions Committee, a bi-national committee established by the ABTPA in 1992, fosters communication with Mexico to reduce stolen vehicles on both sides of the border.

Public Awareness

  • "Protect It. It’s Yours" was the theme for the 2013 ABTPA Annual Summit. After positive feedback, ABTPA launched this as a new public awareness call to action. This is meant to empower Texans to take the necessary steps to reduce their risk of becoming a victim of auto crime. The associated image will appear on the following:
    • Promotional items
    • Parking lot signs
    • Hotel, gym, and daycare signs
    • Media buys
    ABTPA is in the process of trademarking this slogan and graphic for the use of their taskforce members and partners.
  • ABTPA’s major Public Awareness initiative is media buys during peak times in auto crime. These campaigns are to remind Texans to take the steps to reduce their risk of becoming a victim of auto crime.
    • Watch Your Car Month: The Texas Department of Public Safety reports indicate that more motor vehicle thefts are committed in July than in any other month. Therefore ABTPA has designated July as "Watch Your Car Month".
      TxDPS Crime Statistics
    • Winter Holidays: While Texans are shopping and traveling near and far, thieves are watching to take advantage of visible packages and unlocked cars.
  • ABTPA’s Grantees provides the following services at various events across Texas:
    • Presentations
    • VIN etching
    • Conference booths
    • News articles
    • And more.
    Contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information and to request participation in an upcoming event.

Board of Directors

The Governor of Texas appoints six individuals to serve staggered six-year terms on the board of directors.

Board members include:

  • Two law enforcement representatives
  • Two consumer representatives
  • Two insurance representatives
  • The executive director of the Texas Department of Public Safety, who serves ex-officio.


ABTPA Board of Directors
carlos garciaChief Carlos Garcia
Board Chair
Law Enforcement Representative

linda kinneyLinda Kinney
Dripping Springs
Board Member
Consumer Representative

steven c mccrawSteven C. McCraw
c/o Major Wynn Reynolds ex-officio
Board Member
Texas Dept. of Public Safety

ken rossKen Ross
Board Member
Insurance Representative

ashley hunterAshley Hunter
Board Member
Insurance Representative

mark wilsonDeputy Chief Mark Wilson
Board Member
Law Enforcement

jerry wrightJerry Wright
El Paso
Board Member
Consumer Representative


FY15 Calendar of Events and Deadlines
Event/Deadline Date Location
FY15 Long Term Public Awareness Report 8th eGrants
FY14 Year-End Progress Report 30th eGrants
Board of Directors Meeting 13th Embassy Suites San Marcos, 1001 E. McCarty Lane
Deadline to request funds for activities in FY14 30th eGrants
FY14 - 4th Quarter Financial Expenditure Report 30th eGrants
FY15 - 1st Quarter Financial Expenditure Report 31st eGrants
Insurance Fraud Meeting 28th TBD
Board of Directors Meeting 29th
FY15 - 2nd Quarter Financial Expenditure Report 31st eGrants
Grantee Advisory Meeting 25th Texas Dept. of Motor Vehicles, 4000 Jackson Avenue
Board of Directors Meeting 26th
Deadline for Grant Application Submission 1st eGrants
2015 Annual Summit & Board of Directors Meeting TBD Fort Worth, Texas
FY15 - 3rd Quarter Financial Expenditure Report 30th eGrants
Deadline for FY15 Grant Adjustments 31st eGrants



More Information

For more information, please email the Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call (512) 465-1485.

Copyright © 2015 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731