skip to main content

Auto Burglary & Theft Prevention Authority

Auto Burglary & Theft Prevention Authority

The Auto Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority (ABTPA) has fostered a statewide cooperative network of law enforcement groups, prosecutors, insurance industry representatives, local tax assessor-collectors, and concerned citizens to combat vehicle theft and burglary through enforcement, prevention, public information, and education initiatives. In addition to providing guidance and oversight, ABTPA awards financial grants to agencies, organizations, and concerned parties in an effort to raise public awareness of vehicle theft and burglary and implement education and prevention initiatives.


Established by the 72nd Texas Legislature in 1991, the Texas Automobile Theft Prevention Authority (ATPA) became the first statewide effort to reduce auto theft. The 80th Legislature amended the ATPA mission in House Bill 1887 to also emphasize reducing vehicle burglaries. The resulting agency, the Texas Auto Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority (ABTPA), is charged with assessing automobile burglary, theft, and economic theft (burglary or theft committed for financial gain) in Texas, analyzing the methods and providing financial support to combat the problems. In 2009, the ABTPA became part of the newly established Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.

ABTPA Grantees

Introduction to ABTPA

Educational Programs

  • ABTPA’s Grantees provides the following services at various events across Texas:
    • Presentations
    • VIN etching
    • Conference booths
    • News articles
    • And more.
    Contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information and to request participation in an upcoming event.

Board of Directors

The Governor of Texas appoints six individuals to serve staggered six-year terms on the board of directors.

Board members include:

  • Two law enforcement representatives
  • Two consumer representatives
  • Two insurance representatives
  • The executive director of the Texas Department of Public Safety, who serves ex-officio.


ABTPA Board of Directors
carlos garciaChief Carlos Garcia
Board Chair
Law Enforcement Representative

linda kinneyLinda Kinney
Dripping Springs
Board Member
Consumer Representative

steven c mccrawSteven C. McCraw
c/o Major Wynn Reynolds ex-officio
Board Member
Texas Dept. of Public Safety

ken rossKen Ross
Board Member
Insurance Representative

ashley hunterAshley Hunter
Board Member
Insurance Representative

Armin MizaniArmin Mizani
Board Member
Consumer Representative

Tommy HansenTommy Hansen
Board Member
Law Enforcement Representative


FY17 Calendar of Events and Deadlines
Event/Deadline Date Location

Board Meeting


12th Texas Dept. of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Avenue, Austin



More Information

For more information, please email the Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call (512) 465-1485.

Copyright © 2016 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731