skip to main content

registration renewal e-reminder address change specialty plates vehicle transfer notification vehicle transit permit title check

Out of State & Imported Vehicles

Out-of-State and Imported Vehicles

If you did not purchase your vehicle in Texas, please choose the scenario that best fits your situation.

 

Purchased a Vehicle Out-of-State

Within 30 days of bringing the vehicle to Texas, you must obtain a vehicle inspection and visit your county tax assessor-collector to title and register the vehicle. The vehicle must pass inspection before it can be registered and titled. After having it inspected, take the following to your county tax office:

  • Inspection certification,
  • Proof of liability insurance meeting State of Texas minimum requirements,
  • The vehicle's odometer reading if it is less than 10 years old,
  • An original out-of-state title,
  • Proof of valid registration,
  • Proof of sales tax payment or current foreign/military ownership document,
  • Completed Form 130-U,

    130-U Application for Texas Certificate of Title
  • The following fees:
    • Registration fee (base fee of $50.75 for passenger vehicles and light trucks),
    • Title application fee of $28 or $33, depending on the county,
    • 6.25% vehicle sales tax,
    • Local and county fees ($5-$20),
    • $1 Insurance verification fee
    • $1 Automation fee

Purchased a Vehicle Out-of-Country

The vehicle must meet all federal and state importation requirements prior to titling and/or registering the vehicle in Texas.

Step 1: Properly import your vehicle

Your vehicle must meet the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) established by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

More information concerning customs matters is available from U.S. Customs and Border Protection.

Step 2: Obtain a VIN inspection

Your vehicle must pass a Texas vehicle safety inspection and a visual verification of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). You can have your vehicle inspected at any Texas-certified Safety Inspection Station.

The vehicle must be also inspected by one of the following law enforcement agencies:

  • Municipal Police Auto Theft Unit
  • County Sheriff's Department Auto Theft Unit
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle Theft Services
  • The National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB) Vehicle Theft Investigators
Step 3: Apply for Texas title/registration

After your vehicle passes customs, federal and state inspection, take the following forms, along with proof of insurance, to your county tax office:

  • U.S. Department of Transportation Form HS-7
  • If the imported vehicle is under bond, an original bond release letter from the U.S. Department of Transportation
  • Vehicle Identification Certificate (DPS Form VI-30-A), completed by a Safety Inspection Station
  • The inspection report on the bottom of Form VTR-68-A completed by a law enforcement agency's auto theft unit. Note: U.S. military personnel, including immediate family members, returning to Texas military bases are not required to submit a completed form VTR-68-A. Please refer to our Military Packet for more information.

    Military Packet
  • A completed Form 130-U  

    130-U Application for Texas Certificate of Title
  • Provide the vehicle's odometer reading if it is less than 10 years old.
  • Present the ownership document. You must provide a certified English translation of any document printed in any language other than English.

More Information

Additional fees may also be due at the time of registration. For more information, contact your county tax office. For information about the new resident or vehicle sales tax, contact the Comptroller of Public Accounts.

Copyright © 2014 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731