A
7( ASE Safety Inspection and Application for

Texas Department . -
of Motor ehices Custom Vehicle or Street Rod License Plates

VTR-852
Rev. 3/2012

Custom vehicle is defined as “a vehicle that is at least 25 years old and of a model year after 1948; or manufactured to resemble
a vehicle that is at least 25 years old and of a model year after 1948; and that has been altered from the manufacturer’s original design or
has a body constructed from materials not original to the vehicle.”

Street rod is defined as “a vehicle that was manufactured before 1949; or after 1948 to resemble a vehicle manufactured before 1949;
and that has been altered from the manufacturer’s original design, or has a body constructed from materials not original to the vehicle.”

IMPORTANT — VEHICLE INSPECTION REQUIRED.

SAFETY INSPECTION: The vehicle must be certified by an Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) Certified Master Automobile and
Light Truck Technician as being structurally stable and safe to operate on the public highway. The ASE Technician must have current
ASE certification as a Certified Master Automobile Technician; technician must inspect the vehicle, and sign the statement below.

The automotive systems and parts listed below must be inspected, as applicable, based on the year model of the replica vehicle. To
obtain a Custom Vehicle or Street Rod specialty license plate, the vehicle must meet the applicable definition above, and page 2 must be
completed. Itis recommended that you carry a copy of this completed application in your vehicle.

| VEHICLE INSPECTION — Applicable item listed below must be inspected.

[ Horn [ Rear Red Reflector (2)

[J windshield Wipers [J Wheels and Rims

[ Mirror [ Exhaust System

[ steering [ License Plate Lamp

[ seat Belts O Tires

[ Brakes — Service (Parking, beginning 1960 models) [ Turn Signal Lamps (beginning 1960 models)
[1 Beam Indicator (Beginning with 1948 models) [ Head Lamps (2) (4 in 4 headlamp systems)
[ Tail Lamps (2) (1 on vehicles 1959 model & earlier) [I Motor, Serial or Vehicle Identification Number

[ Stop Lamps (2) (1 on vehicles 1959 model & earlier)

ASE TECHNICIAN STATEMENT - State law makes falsifying information a third-degree felony.

| certify that | have inspected the vehicle listed, and have determined that it is structurally stable and meets the necessary
conditions to be operated safely on the public highway. The information provided is correct to the best of my knowledge at the time
of inspection.

Technician’s Printed Name Technician’s Signature Inspection Date

ASE Certification Number Certification Expiration Date

Business Name and Address Phone

After inspection by the ASE Technician, submit this completed application to your local County Tax Assessor-Collector’s office.

UNDER STATE LAW: Texas Title must be branded “REPLICA” to obtain Custom Vehicle or Street Rod license plates. Contact your local
County Tax Assessor-Collector’s office for additional information.

TO OBTAIN YOUR SPECIALTY PLATE: There is no fee for the specialty license plate but your annual registration and other
applicable fees must be paid. Your plate may be personalized for an additional fee, make selection on page 2.

FOR COUNTY ASSESSOR-COLLECTORS. Send to: Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Vehicle Titles and Registration Division-SPB,
Austin, TX 78779-0001.
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GENERAL REQUIREMENTS - Read carefully

e ASE vehicle safety inspection must be completed before this application is submitted to your county.

e Texas title branded “REPLICA” and vehicle registration must be in your name. If vehicle is leased, attach a copy of
the lease agreement.

e If vehicleis sold, “Custom Vehicle” and “Street Rod” license plates are non-transferrable.

e Upon sale or transfer, the vehicle must be re-inspected by an ASE Certified Technician in order to obtain the “Custom
Vehicle” or “Street Rod” license plate.

When the specialty plate is issued, an additional fee may be collected to establish a single expiration date for both the specialty plate and
the vehicle registration. If ordering by mail, contact your County Tax Assessor-Collector’s office in 2-3 weeks to verify your plate is ready
for issuance. Contact your County Tax Assessor-Collector’s office if you have questions.

APPLICANT INFORMATION - Type or print only

Last Name First Name Middle Initial
Address City State ZIP
Phone E-mail

VEHICLE DESCRIPTION

Replica Year Replica Make Model

Body Style Current TX Plate Primary Color
Vehicle Identification Number (or Motor Number if applicable) Title Document Number

Vehicle type Specialty Plate type

[ ] Passenger Car [ ] Truck  [] Motorcycle [] Custom Vehicle [] Street Rod

STATEMENT - State law makes falsifying information a third-degree felony.

My vehicle meets the eligibility requirements listed on this form, and | am providing proof of the ASE vehicle safety inspection.

Applicant’s Printed Name Signature Date

PERSONALIZE YOUR PLATE - If you would like to personalize your specialty plate, there will be a $40 fee per year, in addition to the
annual registration and other applicable fees.

¢  Show selection(s) exactly as you want them to appear on your license plate. You may list more than one option in case the
personalization you have chosen is already issued.

e A selection that has already been issued, is deemed offensive, or conflicts with the regular license plate numbering system cannot be
approved.

. Use each selection block below to represent one character - defined as one letter, number, blank space, dash, period, Texas
silhouette, or the heart symbol. Use an asterisk (* ) to indicate the Texas silhouette, and an at sign ( @ ) to indicate the heart symbol.

e Passenger car and truck plates are limited to six (6) characters total. Motorcycle plates are limited to four (4) characters total.

e You are not required to use all the spaces provided.

e The International Symbol of Access (ISA) counts as two (2) characters. If you want the ISA and are applying for a personalized plate,
the plate may consist of only three characters (or two, if for a motorcycle). Use a percent sign (%) to indicate the ISA.

1st Selection 2nd Selection 3rd Selection
Personalization fee will not be refunded once application is submitted.

INTERNATIONAL SYMBOL OF ACCESS (5

To display a disabled person symbol on your license plate, you must attach a signed Form VTR-214 to this application to show your
eligibility for the International Symbol of Access. Contact your County Tax Assessor-Collector’s office for more information.

FOR COUNTY ASSESSOR-COLLECTORS. Send to: Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Vehicle Titles and Registration Division-SPB,
Austin, TX 78779-0001.




