skip to main content

069-06 Title Only Transactions - Collection of Delinquent Transfer Penalties

Registration and Title Bulletin - #069-06

Date: December 7, 2006

To: All County Tax Assessor-Collectors

Subject: Title Only Transactions - Collection of Delinquent Transfer Penalties

Attachment

These documents contain text of correspondence sent by TxDOT to the county tax assessor-collectors, statutory agents who provide vehicle registration and titling services for citizens in Texas. This information is provided to apprise the general public of issues affecting the state's vehicle titling and registration process.

PURPOSE

To advise of a change in policy regarding collection of the $10 delinquent transfer penalty

DETAILS

Currently, a delinquent transfer penalty is collected only when an application for transfer of title and registration is filed for a vehicle that is currently registered and titled in Texas and the application is filed later than twenty working days after the date of assignment. This new policy expands the requirement for collection of the delinquent transfer penalty to include certain "Title Only" transactions.

COUNTY ACTION

Effective immediately, the delinquent transfer penalty must also be collected when the application is filed later than twenty working days after the date of assignment and the vehicle is:

  • Currently registered and titled in Texas and
  • Eligible to be registered, but the applicant chooses to apply for Title Only

This change in policy does not apply to vehicles that are required to be titled, but are exempt from registration. Attached are guidelines for collection of the delinquent transfer penalty.

CONTACT

If you have any questions or need any additional information, please contact your local Vehicle Titles and Registration Division Regional Office. You may also call Mike Craig, Deputy Director, at (512) 465-7570.

In some cases the Registration and Title Bulletins (RTB) contain attachments. If you require a copy of the original signed RTB and the attachments, please e-mail us and include the RTB number. Repeat requests are subject to charges in accordance with Open Record policies. A subscription service is also available for an annual fee of $250. Subscribers will automatically

Copyright © 2014 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731