skip to main content

008-10 Changes to Texas Insurance Liability Coverage Requirements

Registration and Title Bulletin - #008-10

Date: December 27, 2010

To:

All County Tax Assessor-Collectors

Subject: Changes to Texas Insurance Liability Coverage Requirements

These documents contain text of correspondence sent by TxDMV to the county tax assessor-collectors, statutory agents who provide vehicle registration and titling services for citizens in Texas. This information is provided to apprise the general public of issues affecting the state's vehicle titling and registration process.

PURPOSE

To advise you of a new state law, effective January 1, 2011, that will increase the liability insurance coverage amounts required to establish financial responsibility which is required at the time of registration.

DETAILS

Effective January 1, 2011, the minimum amounts of motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required to establish financial responsibility under Transportation Code 601.072 are:

(1) $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident;

(2) $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident, subject to the amount provided by Subdivision (1) for bodily injury to or death of one of the persons; and

(3) $25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one accident.

Most current auto insurance policies automatically cover the new amounts until the policy is renewed.

CONTACT

If you need additional information, please contact your local VTR Regional Office.

Copyright © 2014 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731