skip to main content

047-11 House Bill 3510, Regulation of the Towing, Booting, and Storage of Vehicles

Registration and Title Bulletin - #047-11

Date: August 31, 2011

To:

All County Tax Assessor-Collectors

Subject: House Bill 3510, Regulation of the Towing, Booting, and Storage of Vehicles.

Attachment

These documents contain text of correspondence sent by TxDMV to the county tax assessor-collectors, statutory agents who provide vehicle registration and titling services for citizens in Texas. This information is provided to apprise the general public of issues affecting the state's vehicle titling and registration process.

PURPOSE

To notify you of a change made by HB 3510 enacted by the 82nd Legislature, Regular Session.

DETAILS

This bill changes Section 2303.154, of the Occupations Code, and applies to a vehicle accepted by licensed vehicle storage facilities on or after 9-1-2011.

Effective September 1, 2011, a licensed vehicle storage facility now sends the second notice 15 days after the first notice to the registered owner and/or lienholder. A vehicle accepted by a licensed vehicle storage facility before 9-1-2011 is governed by the law in effect at the time the vehicle was accepted (e.g., the vehicle storage facility must wait 41 days before sending a second notice).

Form VTR-265-VSF has been updated to reflect this change, and should be available on our Web site within a week. Licensed vehicle storage facilities should continue to use the current form for any vehicle left at their facility before 9-1-2011.

CONTACT

If you have any questions, please contact your local TxDMV Regional Service Center.

Copyright © 2014 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731