skip to main content

002-12 Introduction to Registration and Title System (RTS) Version 6.9.0

Registration and Title Bulletin #002-12

Date: February 7, 2012

To: All County Tax Assessor-Collectors

Subject: Introduction to Registration and Title System (RTS) Version 6.9.0

Attachment

These documents contain text of correspondence sent by TxDMV to the county tax assessor-collectors, statutory agents who provide vehicle registration and titling services for citizens in Texas. This information is provided to apprise the general public of issues affecting the state's vehicle titling and registration process.

PURPOSE

To inform you of changes to RTS.

DETAILS

RTS Version 6.9.0 will be distributed statewide the evening of Sunday, February 12th, and will be available for use on Monday, February 13, 2012.

This release includes fixes for minor defects, corrections, and RTS programming changes related legislative changes from the 82nd Legislative Session:

LATE TITLE TRANSFER PENALTY

The late transfer penalty changes from "20 working days" to "30 days" and applies to most title transactions whether or not the vehicle is titled in Texas and has current registration.

REBUILT FEE

The system now allows you to collect the $65 Rebuilt Fee in the Title event at the time of application.

TITLE EVENT ENHANCEMENTS

Title and Registration Additional Information – The "Plate Transfer Fee" checkbox on the Title Additional Info and Registration Additional Info screens is now referred to as "Plate to Owner Transfer."

Validate Existing Registration for Dealer Sales – When a dealer submits a dealer title transaction for a vehicle with expired registration (August 2011) and the Dealer GDN (P number) is entered on the Owner Entry screen, the system will automatically default to Valid Reason.

ELT (E-Title to Paper Title) – When the department receives an electronic confirmation that an electronic lien is released, RTS will now capture and display the release date.

ATV & ROV – When selecting the Vehicle Class as Motorcycle and the Registration Class as ATV or ROV on the Class/Plate/Sticker Type Choice, the odometer reading and odometer brand fields are automatically disabled on Title Record or No Title Record. Additionally, the Sales Tax categories default to Exempt and Off-Highway.

PARK MODEL TRAVEL TRAILER – TITLE ONLY

County tax offices can now process a Park Model Travel Trailer as Title Only (No Regis) through the Title event in RTS. A new Travel Trailer check box appears on the No Title Record or Title Record when processing a Park Model Travel Trailer as a Title Only (No Regis).

ELIMINATE DISABLED VETERAN TWO PLACARD LIMIT

Disabled Veteran (DV) license plate holders may apply for a disabled parking placard for each vehicle displaying DV license plates. The system now allows you to process up to five placards in a single transaction for qualifying applicants.

For example, if a DV license plate holder requests three placards, county tax office personnel can process all three (limit five) in a single transaction.

PERSONALIZED DISABLED VETERAN SPECIALTY PLATES

DV license plates can now be personalized, however; the license plates for cars and trucks (not motorcycles) must have "DV" as a prefix or suffix. The $40 personalization fee applies to each personalized plate.

STREET ROD AND CUSTOM VEHICLE SPECIALTY PLATES

Texas Administrative Rules will be finalized in March regarding Street Rods and Custom Vehicles. We will be sending a Registration and Title Bulletin (RTB) with the policy and procedures after adoption of the rules, at which time you may begin issuing the plates.

HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION (HB 252)

We are very pleased to announce that at county request and with this release, we have added a new message that will appear on most RTS Registration Receipts. The new message reads, Important Document: Please retain for your records.

COUNTY ACTION

See the attached RTS Version 6.9.0 Release Notes for detailed information and processing instructions for the elements of this release. Information can also be found on the TxDMV website under Resources for Tax Assessor-Collectors at www.TxDMV.gov

CONTACT

If you have any questions, please contact your local TxDMV Regional Service Center.

Copyright © 2014 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731