
Application for Nonprofit Organization 
Specialty License Plate 

Nonprofit Applicant 
Proposed specialty license plate name (limited to 25 characters) 

Organization name 

Organization membership in Texas (number of members) Estimated number of plates to be sold in first year 

Organization website 

Has this plate been proposed or offered in other states? If so, which states? 

Organization's mission and the marketing strategy for this specialty license plate 

Sponsoring State Agency 
Proceeds from the sale of this plate will be administered by (insert the Texas state agency name and division, if applicable): 

Proceeds will support 

Are there any qualifications to be met for an individual to obtain the plate?  Note: Qualifications may restrict the number of purchasers. 

No Yes 
Please detail: 

Contact Information 
First Name Last Name Title 

Address City State Zip 

Telephone Email 

Signature Date 
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Application for Nonprofit Organization Specialty License Plate 

Instructions and Required Documentation 
 

1. Visit TxDMV's website at www.TxDMV.gov. The License Plates web page has Information for Sponsoring Organizations, a 
Proposing a Specialty License Plate brochure, and 400+ existing specialty license plate designs. You may also contact the 
TxDMV directly by telephone at 512-374-5010. 

2. Explore design and marketing options. You may contact My Plates, the state's specialty plate marketing vendor by telephone 
888-769-7528 or online at Access myplates website for more informaiton. My Plates will provide you its application form if you 
choose to propose a specialty plate through its program. Do not use this form if entering into a contract with My Plates. 

3. Select a sponsoring state agency. A share of proceeds from plate sales can be directed to a nonprofit organization as long 
as a sponsoring state agency agrees to receive and appropriate the funds. A list of Texas state agencies can be found online 
at www.texas.gov. State law requires a $30 annual specialty plate fee, of which the TxDMV is required to distribute $22 to the 
sponsoring state agency, where the funds may be appropriated to the nonprofit organization. TxDMV will retain the remaining 
$8 for administrative costs. If no state agency agrees to sponsor a plate, once approved, the proceeds will go to the TxDMV Fund. 

4. Submit the following documentation with your application: 
Formal Internal Revenue Service (IRS) certification of your organization's nonprofit status (on IRS letterhead). An electronic file of 
the plate's design created with Adobe Photoshop software (saved in psd format). Submit raster or vector images with layers  
intact (not flattened) to allow for editing by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice during the manufacturing process. 

5. Submit the following documentation, only if applicable: Written permission if trademarked or intellectual property 
is used in your plate's design. A letter from the executive director of the sponsoring state agency indicating the 
agency is willing to receive and appropriate revenue from plate sales; that the use of the plate revenue will not 
violate a state statute or constitutional provision; and accounting codes from the Texas State Comptroller's Uniform 
Statewide Accounting System will be provided as needed for the TxDMV's system programming of the approved 
specialty license plate. 

 
Mail your application to: 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Special Plates Unit 
4000 Jackson Avenue 
Austin, TX 78731 or specialtyplates@txdmv.gov 
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Application Process 
Following receipt of your completed application, the TxDMV will: 

Review your plate design to ensure it meets specifications and that it is not similar to an existing plate design. 
If approved, provide a prototype plate for your review. 
Present your specialty license plate to the public for comment and to the TxDMV Board for their consideration at a public
meeting. 

 
If the TxDMV Board approves your plate, the TxDMV will: 

Require an $8,000 deposit. The deposit is refunded after 800 sets of plates are ordered or renewed. 
Display your plate on the TxDMV website. Accept plate orders through local  county tax assessor-collector's offices
and online. 
Distribute the funds from new orders and renewals of the specialty license plate through the TxDMV automated systems. 
Provide monthly reports of plate orders and revenue upon request. 

http://www.txdmv.gov/
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