skip to main content

042-11 SB 1386, Refusal to register motor vehicles by a County Tax Assessor-Collector or the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)

Registration and Title Bulletin - #042-11

Date: August 09, 2011

To:

All County Tax Assessor-Collectors

Subject: SB 1386, Refusal to register motor vehicles by a County Tax Assessor-Collector or the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV).

PURPOSE

To provide details concerning provisions of SB 1386.

DETAILS

SB 1386, 82nd Legislative Session, allows counties to refuse to register vehicles in specific situations, and may impose an additional fee of $20.00.

Please be advised this fee:

  • only applies to counties and municipalities that have scofflaw related contracts with TxDMV under Transportation Code 502.185 - the County Scofflaw Interlocal Agreement or Transportation Code 702.003 and 707.017 - the City Scofflaw Interlocal Agreement.
  • is only charged to customers who failed to appear in connection with a complaint, citation, information, or indictment in a court in the county or a municipality in which a criminal proceeding is pending against the vehicle owner.
  • should not be collected in the Registration and Title System since it is not a registration or title fee.
  • may be used to reimburse the county tax assessor-collector, another county department, or the department (TxDMV) for expenses related to services under the scofflaw contract. While the department is cited in the statute, the department does not intend to seek any portion of the $20.00.

CONTACT

If you have any questions, please contact your local TxDMV Regional Service Center.

Copyright © 2014 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731