Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

HELPING TEXANS GO. HELPING TEXAS GROW.

Military Packet to
Title and Register Your Vehicle

To transfer your vehicle to Texas follow the steps outlined below. Forms and instructions follow:

Step 1.

Complete a VIN Self-Certification Form VTR-272-B (enclosed), or an Out of State Identification Certificate Form
VI-30 (issued by a vehicle safety inspection station).

Step 2. Obtain Insurance meeting the state’s minimum requirements. You will be required to furnish the declarations page

Step 3.

Step 4.

Step 5.

Step 6.

for registration purposes.

Provide proof of military service or Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) along with a copy of your current
government issued identification.

Complete an Application for Texas Certificate of Title Form 130-U (enclosed).

If you are applying for a Texas title and registration you will also need:
a. The current title (Or MCO if a new unregistered vehicle).
b. If importing from another country a USDOT Form HS-7 or a US Customs Form CBP7501.

If you are applying for registration purposes only (no title will be issued) you will also need:
a. Your current out of state registration, and
b. An Application for Registration Purposes Only Form VTR-272(enclosed).

Because we all enjoy the Texas roads and scenery, each vehicle registered in Texas pays fees unless you are
exempt by law.

County Fees
Fees will include:
v New resident fee (if applicable) $90.00
Registration fee for passenger car or truck (6,000 Ibs. and less) $50.75
Title application fee $28.00 or $33.00
Local and county fees $5 - $11.50 (varies by county)
Automation fee $1.00
DPS electronic insurance verification fee $1.00
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Since counties vary in their fees, be sure to check with your county for specific amounts.

Taxes

If you are a Texas resident and have not previously paid a Texas sales tax on the vehicle, you will pay either a
6.25% sales tax or the difference of the full sales tax less any taxes previously paid to another state. For used
vehicles the value of the vehicle will be determined at the county and is based on the Standard Presumptive
Value (SPV) of the vehicle. A SPV calculator is available on our home page. More information can be obtained
by calling the State Comptroller's office at (800) 252-1382 or by visiting www.window.state.tx.us.

More Important Information



To allow someone to register and title on your behalf, you can provide a Power of Attorney to Transfer a Motor Vehicle
Form VTR-271 (enclosed) in addition to the required paperwork.

Insurance

Texas law requires the following minimum amounts of coverage for your vehicle:
v $30,000 bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
v $60,000 bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, with a $30,000 limit for one person
v $25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

"No fault" insurance is not considered valid proof of financial responsibility in Texas. However, proof of financial
responsibility from out of state or out of country is acceptable if the insurance company is licensed to do business in
Texas and reflects the above minimum amounts.

Safety Inspections
Every vehicle registered in Texas must pass an annual safety inspection. Some counties also have emissions testing
requirements. Please check with your county for requirements.

Texas approved inspection stations conduct vehicle inspections and VIN verifications. Many mechanics, repair facilities,
and full-service stations are approved to perform the inspections. Look for the state inspection sign at their place of
business. Contact the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) at (512) 424-7293 or visit their website at
www.txdps.state.tx.us, for more information. You will need to present valid proof of liability insurance in order to receive
your vehicle inspection sticker.

Importing vehicles

Your vehicle must meet the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) established by the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration. Information on the safety standards can be found at www.nhtsa.dot.gov/CARS/RULES/IMPORT/.
More information concerning duty or other Customs matters is available from the U.S. Customs and Border Protection.
http://www.cbp.gov/. Being in the military you are not required to complete a Form VTR-68.

You must also have your vehicle inspected by one of the following law enforcement agencies:
v" Municipal Police Auto Theft Unit

County Sheriff's Department Auto Theft Unit

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle Theft Services (DPS)

The National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB) Vehicle Theft Investigators
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A certified English translation of any document printed in any language other than English must be provided.

Checklist
To title and register your vehicle the following is required: To reqister your vehicle the following is required:

____VIN Self-Certification Form VTR-272-B or Form V{-30 _____VIN Self-Certification Form VTR-272-B or Form VI-30
_____Proof of Insurance _____Proof of Insurance

__Proof of military service or Leave and Earnings ____Proof of military service or Leave and Earnings

Statement (LES) Statement (LES)

A copy of your current government issued |.D. A copy of your current government issued 1.D.
___An Application for Texas Certificate of Title Form 130-U ____An Application for Texas Certificate of Title Form 130-U
_ Fees _ Fees
_____The current title (Or MCO if a new unregistered vehicle) _ Out of state registration

___Ifimporting from another country a USDOT Form HS-7 __Application for Registration Purposes Only Form VTR-

or a US Customs Form CBP7501 272
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Texas Residents with vehicles located outside the state of Texas may complete this self certification
when applying for a negotiable Texas Certificate of Title in lieu of an Out-of-state Identification Certificate
(DPS form VI-30).

Submit additional documentation as indicated below, if required.

Select applicable box:

| Recreational Vehicle owner with vehicle [ ] Apportioned Vehicle Out-of-State
temporarily out-of-state + Indicate current apportioned
+ Attach valid proof of Texas residency. account number:

Acceptable documents include a property tax
receipt, utility statement, etc.

] Military Personnel located Out-of-State [] Student located Out-of-State
+ Attach a copy of current military orders or signed + Attach verification of current student status.
statement from the Provost Marshall. Acceptable documents include a tuition receipt,

enroliment form, student identification card, etc.

[] Official serving in the U.S. Congress [ ] Title Only Applicant
+ No additional documentation is required. + Attach Form VTR-131, Application for Title Only
and valid proof of Texas residency, such as a
property tax receipt, utility statement, etc.

DATE OF INSPECTION |STATE OR JURISDICTION OQUTSIDE TEXAS VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN)

YEAR MODEL VEHICLE MAKE VEHICLE OWNER NAME

I certify the following:

¢ | have made a physical inspection of the vehicle described above and found the permanent identification number to
be as indicated above;

+ At the time this vehicle is being registered in Texas, the vehicle is not located in Texas, and is exempt from the safety
inspection provisions of the Texas Certificate of Title Act (Transportation Code §501.030).

+ I'm aware that a state-approved safety inspection will be required when the vehicle is operated in Texas.
Failure to comply may result in a law enforcement citation.

Printed Name of Owner or Agent Signature of Owner or Agent

State law provides that falsifying information on any required document is a third-degree felony.



APPLICATION FOR TEXAS TITLE
TYPE OR PRINT NEATLY IN INK

TAX OFFICE USE ONLY Standard Presumptive Value
Tax Collector: County: [Jspvs
Date: Transaction Number: [[] Aspreisat value s
1. Vehicle Identification Number 2. Year 3. Make 4. Body Style 5. Model 6.
7. Empty Weight (Ibs.) | 8. Carrying Capacity (ibs.) 9. Plate No. | 10. Vehicle Unit No. 11, Major Vehicle Color 12. Minor Vehicle Color (two colored)

13. Applicant Type E] Individual D Business [:] Government |:] Trust D Non-Profit  Business, Government, Trusts and Non-Profits, use the Business Name line below.

14, Applicant's/Owner’'s Legal Name 1/Business Name Owner’'s County Name

First Middle Last Suffix

Mailing Address City State Zip

14a. Applicant/Owner 1 Photo ID Number

ID Type I:] U'S. Driver's License D US State Identfication I:] Texas D Other (Name of State or Temtory)
I:] US Passport D Foreign Passport (Name of Foreign Country) D U S Military ID I:] NATO ID

Q Other Miiitary Status of Forces Photo ID D U.S. Department of Homeland Secunty ID | U S _Citizenship & Immigration Services ID D U.S. Department of State ID

14b. Applicant's/Owner’s Legal Name 2

First Middle Last Suffix
Mailing Address City State Zip
14c. Registrant's Name (Renewal Notice Recipient)/Business Name
First Middle Last Suffix
Mailing Address City State Zip
14d. Vehicle Physical Location Address City State Zip
15. Previous Owner's Legal Name/Business Name 15a. GDN -Dealer Use Only
First Middle Last Suffix
Mailing Address City State Zip
THIS VEHICLE IS SUBJECT TO THE FOLLOWING FIRST LIEN
16. 1st Lien Date 1st Lienholder Name 16a. Electronic Title Request? |___| YES (16c cannot be checked)
Mailing Address 16b. Certified Lienholder ID No.
City State Zip 16c. Additional Lien(s)? [ YES (Attach Form VTR-267)
TR COECTEOTE [ o nvencoeion [ o™ [ 1" [loon™ [lovge [Jvew [Jwe

D Body Style [ ] Other

18. ODOMETER DISCLOSURE - FEDERAL AND STATE LAW REQUIRES THAT YOU STATE THE MILEAGE UPON TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP. FAILURE TO
COMPLETE OR PROVIDING A FALSE STATEMENT MAY RESULT IN FINES AND/OR IMPRISONMENT.

l, , state that the odometer now reads (no tenths).

(Name of Seller/Agent)
THE MILEAGE SHOWN IS [ ] A - Actual Mileage [] N - Not Actual Mileage (WARNING-ODOMETER DISCREPANCY) [] - Mileage Exceeds Mechanical Limits [ ] Exempt

19. CHECK ONLY IF APPLICABLE MOTOR VEHICLE TAX STATEMENT
[] 1 hold Motar vehicie Retailer's (Rental) Permit No and will satisfy the minimum tax liability (V AT S . Tax Code §152 046 [c])
|—| | am a Dealer or Lessor and qualify to take the Fair Market Value Deduction (VA TS, Tax Code §152 002 [c}} GDN or Lessor Number
20. DESCRIPTION OF VEHICLE Year Make Vehicle Identification Number 20a. ADDITIONAL TRADE-INS? (Y/N)

TRADED IN (if any)
21. SALES AND USE TAX COMPUTATION

D (a) Sales Price ($ rebate has been deducted) $ : $90 New Resident Tax - (Previous State)
(b) Less Trade-In Amount, Describe in Item 20 Above $( ) ; $5 Even Trade Tax
(c) For Dealers/L.essors/Rental ONLY - Fair Market Value $10 Gift Tax - Use Comptroller Form 14-317
Deduction, describe in item 20 above ¥ | I—— $65 Rebuilt Salvage Fee
(d) Taxable Amount (Item a, minus tem b./ltem c.) $ (| 25% Emissions Fee (Diesel Vehicles 1996 and Older > 14,000 Ibs. )
(e) 6.:25% Tax on Taxable Amount (Multiply ltem d. by .0625) $ ] 1% Emissions Fee (Diesel Vehicles 1997 and Newer > 14,000 Ibs. )
(f) Late Tax Payment Penalty D St or I:] 1o $ ] Exemption claimed under the Mator Vehicle Sales and Use Tax Law because
(@) Tax Paid to (STATE) $ —
W) (?t,\enrgl;N;;uositgg); /:‘:\:r?u:i::;T)Y DUE $ $28 or $33 APPLICATION FEE FOR TEXAS TITLE

— (Contact your County Tax Assessor-Collector for the corect fee.)
| HEREBY CERTIFY THAT ALL STATEMENTS IN THIS DOCUMENT ARE TRUE AND CORRECT TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF.

22,

Signature of SELLER, DONOR, OR TRADER 1 PRINTED NAME (Same as signature } 1 Date
23

Signature of SELLER, DONOR, OR TRADER 2 PRINTED NAME (Same as signature ) 2 Date
24.

Signature of PURCHASER, DONEE, OR TRADER 1 PRINTED NAME (Same as signature ) 1 Date
25

Signature of PURCHASER, DONEE, OR TRADER 2 PRINTED NAME (Same as signature ) 2 Date

WARNING: Transportation Code, §501.155, provides that falsifying information on title transfer documents is a third-degree felony offense punishable by not more than ten (10)
__years in prison or not more than one (1) year in a community correctional facility. In addition to imprisonment, a fine of up to $10,000 may also be imposed.

Form 130-U (Rev. 8/2013) Online Form at www.TxDMV gov Page 1 of 2



GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
APPLICATION FOR TEXAS TITLE

This form must be completed and submitted to your County Tax Assessor-Collector accompanied by any required
application fee, supporting documents, registration fee if applicable, and any motor vehicle tax due. An application form
may be reproduced or faxed. A completed form must contain the original signature of the buyer. The seller's signature may
be reproduced or faxed. All title applications must include one of the government-issued photo IDs listed on field 14a.

Rights of Survivorship (Optional) - Two or more persons may enter into a rights of survivorship agreement. it is not
restricted to husband and wife. Please use Form VTR-122, Rights of Survivorship Ownership Agreement for a
Motor Vehicle.

AVAILABLE HELP
» For assistance in completing this form contact your County Tax Assessor-Collector.

» For information about motor vehicle sales and use tax, or emission fees, contact the Texas Comptroller of Public
Accounts, Tax Assistance Section, at 1-800-252-1382 toll free nationwide, or call 512-463-4600.

» For title or registration information, contact your County Tax Assessor-Collector or the Texas Department of Motor
Vehicles at 512-465-3000 or 1-888-368-4689.

With a few exceptions, you are entitled to be informed about the information the department collects about you.
The Texas Government Code entitles you to receive and review the information on request, and to request that the
department correct any information about you that is deemed incorrect. Please contact the Texas Department of
Motor Vehicles at 512-465-3000 or 1-888-368-4689 for details.

NOTICE

The sales and use tax must be paid to the County Tax Assessor-Collector within 30 days from the date of purchase or entry
of the vehicle into Texas. A $2.50 fee for transfer of current registration is due in addition to the title application fees and
other applicable fees. If not currently registered, registration fees will be due.

A 6.25 percent motor vehicle sales or use tax is imposed on the sale price (less trade-in allowance) of motor vehicles for
use in Texas, or of a motor vehicle purchased outside of the state and later brought into this state by a Texas resident.

Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) applies to private-party sales of most used motor vehicles purchased or brought into
Texas. The tax is computed on the greater of the sales price or 80 percent of the SPV on the day of title application.

New Texas residents are subject to a $90 use tax on a vehicle brought into this state that was previously registered to the
new resident in another state or foreign country. This is in lieu of the 6.25 percent use tax imposed on a Texas resident.

There is a $10 gift tax when a person receives a motor vehicle as a gift from an immediate family member, guardian or a
decedent's estate. A vehicle donated to, or given by, a nonprofit service organization qualifying under IRC 501(c)(3) is also
taxed as a gift. Both donor and recipient must sign the Comptroller's joint affidavit Form 14-317, Affidavit of Motor Vehicle
Gift Transfer. The affidavit and the title application must be submitted in person by either the donor or recipient.

A transaction in which a motor vehicle is transferred to another person without payment of consideration and one that does
not qualify as a gift described above is a sale and will be subject to tax calculated on the vehicle's standard presumptive
value.

A late penalty equal to 5 percent of the tax will be charged if the tax or surcharge is paid from 1 to 30 calendar days late; if
more than 30 calendar days late, the penalty will be 10 percent of the tax. Minimum penalty is $1.

In addition to the late tax payment penalty, Texas Transportation Code provides for an escalating delinquent transfer
penalty of up to $250 for failure to apply for title within 30 days from the date of title assignment. Submit this application,
along with proper evidence of ownership, and appropriate valid proof of financial responsibility, such as a fiability insurance
card or policy.

All new residents applying for a Texas title and registration for a motor vehicle must file at the County Tax Assessor-
Collector of the county in Texas where the applicant resides within 30 days of establishing residency. Texas law requires
that all vehicles, previously registered and titled or registered in another state or country, be inspected for safety and the
vehicle identification number verified before such vehicles may be registered in Texas. These inspections must be made by
a state appointed Safety Inspection Station that will complete a VI-30, Out-of-State Identification Certificate. This form must
be submitted to the County Tax Assessor-Collector with your application for registration and Texas title.

Form 130-U (Rev. 8/2013) Online Form at www TxDMV gov Page 2 of 2




v,"( Detailed Instructions for Form 130-U, Application for Texas Title

Refer to the title assigned to you by the seller for the vehicle information/description.

Texas Department

of Motor Vehicles

1. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). Found on the certificate of title and also stamped or affixed on the vehicle frame

[e.g., driver side door frame, dashboard (facing windshield), or on engine block on 1955 vehicles and prior models].

2, Year. The model year of the vehicle (e.g., 2011, 2004, etc.).

3. Make. Brand of vehicle designated by the manufacturer (e.g., Chevrolet, Ford, Toyota, etc.).

4 Body Style. Description of vehicle (e.g., 2D = 2-door Sedan, CP = coupe, PK = pickup, etc.)

For more abbreviations see Form VTR-249, Standard Abbreviations for Vehicle Makes and Body Styles.

5. Model. Vehicle model designated by the manufacturer (e.g., Silverado, F-150, Prius, etc.).

6. Reserved for future use.

7. Empty Weight. Weight (in pounds) of the vehicle without a load, rounded up to the next 100 pounds.

8. Carrying Capacity. Weight (in pounds) of the heaviest load the vehicle is legally allowed to carry according to the vehicle
manufacturer.

9. Plate Number. License plate number being issued, if available.

10. Vehicle Unit Number. Applies to vehicles purchased as part of a fleet, if applicable.

1. Major Vehicle Color. If vehicle has one color, enter it in this field. For a vehicle with more than one color, the Major Color
is the primary color that covers most, if not all, of the vehicle.

12. Minor Vehicle Color (two colored). If the vehicle has more than one color, the predominant color must be shown as the
Major Color and the secondary color as the Minor Color {(e.g. standard two-toned vehicles, custom paint job, etc.).

13. Applicant Type: Whether an Individual, Business, Government, Trust or Non-Profit.

14, Applicant's/Owner's Legal Name 1: The legal name as it is recorded on the identification and mailing address of the owner.

14a. Applicant/Owner 1 Photo ID: The unique identification number of the photo identification presented by the first owner,
type of photo, identification, and issuing entity presented. If the ID used is a driver's license, state ID, or passport, also
include the state, territory, or country.

14 b. Applicant's/Owner’'s Legal Name 2: The legal name and mailing address of the second owner, if applicable.
14 c. Registrant's Name: Name and mailing address for registration renewal notice, if different than information in 14 or 14 b.
14 d. Vehicle Physical Location. If different than the address shown in 14, 14 b, or 14 c, indicate a complete physical address.

15. Previous Owner's Name and Mailing Address. The seller's name and mailing address indicated on the assigned title or
other evidence of ownership being surrendered with the Form 130-U.

15a. GDN - Dealer's Use Only. Dealer's general distinguishing number assigned by the State.
16. First Lien Date. If applicable, the date a security agreement was signed with any financial institution/individual for the
financing of the vehicle.

16. First Lienholder Name and Mailing Address. The lienholder's name and mailing address, If there is no lien, indicate
“NONE."

16 a. Electronic Title Request? If the lienholder in 16 requests an electronic title, check box 16 a, and enter the Certified
Lienholder ID No. in 16 b. (If 16 a. is checked, then 16 c. cannot be checked.)

16 b. Certified Lienholder ID No. Enter the 11-digit Certified Lienholder Identification Number here. (Required if 16 a. is

checked.)
16 c. Additional Lien(s)? If another lien exists in addition to 16, check the box and attach VTR-267 Additional Liens Statement.
17. For Corrected Title. If this application is meant to correct an existing title, indicate the appropriate reasons (e.g., Change
in Vehicle Description: VIN, Year, Add Lien, Remove Lien, etc.)
18. Odometer Disclosure. The Seller/Agent is required by law to record the odometer reading at the time of sale and to

show: A-Actual (mileage shown), N-Not Actual (broken or replaced odometer), X-Mileage Exceeds Mechanical Limits, or
Exempt- If the vehicle meets one of the following criteria, select Exempt, and the remainder of the Odometer Disclosure
may remain blank:

* is a new motor vehicle prior to its transfer to the first retail purchaser,;

° has a manufacturer's rated gross vehicle weight rating of more than 16,000 pounds;

* is sold by the manufacturer directly to a government agency:

° is 10 or more model years old; or

* is not self propelled.
In situations involving operation of law (court order, storage or mechanic lien, heirship, etc.), the title applicant provides the
odometer reading and certification to the best of their knowledge.

Form VTR-130-UIF (rev. 09/13) Online Form at www.TxDMV.gov Page 1 of 2



19. Check Only If Applicable. For Dealer and/or Rental or Leasing companies' use. Dealers must include their General
Distinguishing Number. Rental Companies must include their Rental Permit Number.

20. Description of Vehicle Traded In. Describe the vehicle traded in on the purchase (if any), year, make, and VIN.
20 a. Additional Trade-ins? Check if trade included any vehicie(s) in addition to the one shown in 20.
21, Sales and Use Tax Computation. Sales and use taxes must be paid. Indicate the vehicle sales price in the second

space provided on Line (a).
* Rebates are only applicable for new vehicles sold by a dealership to a retail purchaser.
*  21(f) provides for a late tax payment penalty of 5% or 10% of the amount in (e).

*  Check the appropriate box if you are a new resident to Texas; obtained the vehicle as an even trade or as a gift;
or you are applying for a rebuilt salvage title. The $10 gift tax option may be used when a person receives a
vehicle as a gift from an immediate family member, guardian, decedent's estate or nonprofit service organization
qualifying under Internal Revenue Code Sec.501(c)(3). Both the donor and the gift recipient must sign the
Comptroller's joint affidavit, Form 14-317, Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Gift Transfer. The title application must be
accompanied by the Comptroller's joint affidavit and must be filed in person by either the recipient or donor.

* Ifthe vehicle is subject to the diesel emissions surcharge fee, compute the percentage (2.56% OR 1%) of the
fee based on the Taxable Amount shown in (d). This fee is due in addition to the amount of tax due shown in (h).

* If you are claiming a tax exemption, provide a brief explanation for the reason.

22 and 23. Seller, Donor, or Trader. ALL seller(s), donor(s) or trader(s) of the vehicle indicated on the title or other transfer of
ownership document must sign, print their name, and indicate the date of signature.

24 and 25. Purchaser, Donee, or Trader. ALL applicants (person or persons purchasing or receiving the vehicle) must sign,
print their name, and indicate the date of signature.

The completed title application, properly assigned title, current registration receipt (if available) and proof of insurance in
the title applicant’s name are required to be filed in the county where the sale occurred, where the lienholder is located, or
applicant's county of residence within 30 days of date of sale. Payment of title, registration, and sales tax fees are required
when application for title is filed.

Refer to the back of the Form 130-U for phone numbers and additional information concerning fees, taxes, and penalties.

Form VTR-130-UIF (rev. 09/13) Online Form at www.TxDMV.gov Page 2 of 2



A Application for ‘?ZEZ’?LZ":QE
f( Registration Purposes Only

Texas Department ] . . . .
of Motor Vehicles For vehicles titled outside Texas that are to be registered in Texas
Do not surrender an original out-of-state title with this application.

Submit the completed application, a photocopy of proof of liability insurance, and other applicable documentation (see page 2), to your local
county tax assessor-collector's office. A list of county tax offices may be found at our Web site: www.txdmv.gov.

NOTE: A Texas certificate of title will not be issued for the vehicle described below. The receipt issued upon filing this application will
serve as your registration receipt and proof of application for registration only.

APPLICANT INFORMATION - Type or print only

Last Name First Name Middle Initial
Address City State Zip Code

Day Phone E-mall

Name of Lienholder (as shown on Out-of-State Title) Lienholder Address

City State Zip Code

VEHICLE AND TITLE INFORMATION
Out of State Plate State of Issuance Year Make Body Style

Vehicle Identification Number Out-of-State Title Number Title issued by State/Country of

AFFIDAVIT - state law makes falsifying information on this application a third-degree felony.

My signature indicates the information above is true and correct.

Owner/Agent Signature Date
[] Check if the vehicle is located outside Texas, is eligible for registration and you confirmed the Vehicle Identification No.

IMPORTANT: Self-certification of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) is allowed for military personnel, students
and owners of apportioned vehicles if a VIN verification form issued by a Texas state-approved safety inspection station
is not included with the submission of this application. See page 2 for more information. | declare that:

« In making this self-certification, | physically inspected the vehicle described above and found the permanent Vehicle
Identification Number to be as indicated on this application.

+ At the time this vehicle is being registered in Texas, the vehicle is not located in Texas, and is exempt from the
Safety Inspection requirements of Texas.

+ | am submitting a photocopy of my evidence of ownership to verify that | am the vehicle owner, or authorized agent of
the vehicle owner. Mark the photocopied evidence as a “COPY".

FOREIGN VEHRICLE - if you have imported the vehicle, check all that apply:

| declare the above described vehicle on which | am requesting issuance of Registration Purposes Only qualifies
under the following provisions as referenced by the attached DOT Form HS-7 or U.S. Customs Form CF7501:
Vehicle is 25 or more years old.

Vehicle complies with all Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards.

Vehicle was imported into the United States for a temporary period by a nonresident, does not conform to
the Federal Motor Vehicle Standards, and cannot be sold in the U.S. VALID FOR ONE REGISTRATION
PERIOD ONLY.

Vehicle was imported into the U.S. by a member of the armed forces of a foreign country on assignment in
the U.S., does not conform to Federal Motor Vehicle Standards, and cannot be sold in the U.S.

Other.

Instructions on page 2 for military, students, and owners of apportioned and foreign vehicles.

O
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VTR-272 (Rev. 12/08) :
Page 2 of 2 Instructions
Foreign Vehicle

+ Owners of foreign vehicles brought into Texas must submit U.S. Customs Form HS-7 or CF 7501 to apply
for Registration Purposes Only.

+ Check the appropriate box(es) in the Foreign Vehicle section on page 1 if you imported the vehicle.

Vehicle Identification Number Verification

This application must be accompanied by a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) verification form issued
by a Texas state-approved safety inspection station, or confirmation of seif-certification of the VIN (on page 1
of application) for the following transactions:

Military personnel located outside Texas

Active duty military personnef who are Texas residents with stations located outside Texas may use this form for
self-certification of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), in lieu of the VIN verification form, if:

+ The vehicle is located outside Texas, and

+ The form is verified by the Provost Marshal. If the form is not verified by the Provost Marshal, you
must provide verification that the applicant is currently stationed outside Texas. Verification may
consist of military orders, etc., that indicate the current duty station of the applicant.

Students located outside Texas
Texas residents who are students located outside Texas may use this form for self-certification of the Vehicle
tdentification Number (VIN), in lieu of the VIN verification form, if:

The vehicle is located outside Texas, and

You provide verification that the applicant is a student currently enrolled in an accredited college
or university outside Texas. Verification may consist of a tuition receipt, enrollment form,
student identification card, etc., that confirms current enrollment.

Apportioned Vehicle

This self-certification form may be used by the owner of an apportioned vehicle. Submit the completed
application, photocopy of proof of liability insurance, and any other applicable documentation.

+ Commercial vehicle owners must submit a weight certificate.

Submit this application to your County Tax Assessor-Collector, with all supporting
documentation, appropriate fees and completed Form 130-U.



v‘ Power of Attorney to Transfer Motor Vehicle
f(

Texas Department  , Ng alterations allowed

of Motor Vehicles Complete all sections online or on printed form
¢ Print in blue or black ink, signature must be in blue or black ink

This is to certify that 1,

Type or Print Legal Name of Owner: First Middle Last (and suffix, if any)
of the County of

and the State of Texas, owner of the following described motor vehicle, do make, constitute and appoint:

Type or Print Legal Name: First Middle Last (suffix, if any)

of the County of and the State of , my true and lawful attorney,

for me and in my name, place and stead to title, and to allow my attorney the authority to substitute, as it pertains to the motor
vehicle described as follows:

Year Make Body Style Model License Plate Number

Vehicle Identification Number Title / Document Number

This completed and signed form grants my attorney full power and authority to do and perform all and every act necessary to
transfer and assign the legal title to the motor vehicle described, or to purchase and apply for a title to anyone who my attorney
may substitute.

NOTE: This form must be properly completed before it is an acceptable document. The power of attorney cannot be
granted to the selling or buying dealer, an employee of the dealer, or relative of the dealer, unless the vehicle is
exempt from the odometer disclosure law (i.e., the year model is ten or more years old, the carrying capacity exceeds
18,000 Ibs., or the vehicle is not self-propelled). This form may be used in a dealer sale if a disinterested third party is
appointed. A disinterested third party is defined as an individual with no relationship to the dealer or dealership.

If a Power of Attorney is used to apply for title, initial registration, or a certified copy of title, the person(s) signing must include a
photocopy of their photo identification, as required by state law.

| further certify that the current odometer reading is miles and to the best of my
(No Tenths)
knowledge the odometer reading is the ACTUAL mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following statements is checked:

[] 1. The mileage stated is in EXCESS of its mechanical limits.

|___| 2. The odometer reading is NOT the actual mileage. WARNING - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY

Type or Print Legal Name of Owner: First Middle Last (suffix, if any)

Signature of Owner

Mailing Address City State Zip

Date

State law makes falsifying information on this application a third-degree felony.

FORM VTR-271 Rev 10/13 Online Form at www.TxDMV.gov



