skip to main content

006-07 Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax Requirements

Registration and Title Bulletin - #006-07

Date: March 7, 2007

To: All County Tax Assessor-Collectors

Subject: Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax Requirements

Attachment

These documents contain text of correspondence sent by TxDOT to the county tax assessor-collectors, statutory agents who provide vehicle registration and titling services for citizens in Texas. This information is provided to apprise the general public of issues affecting the state's vehicle titling and registration process.

PURPOSE

To provide you with requirements for the Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) and a list of current Internal Revenue Service (IRS) offices.

DETAILS

  • As required by federal law, please verify HVUT payment at the time of vehicle registration or renewal when a commercial vehicle's weight is voluntarily increased to 55,000 pounds or more.
  • Proof of HVUT payment is not required for vehicles titled and registered within 60 days of the last assignment date shown on the back of the certificate of title or the assignment date shown on the manufacturer's certificate of origin.
  • Instructions for completing IRS Form 2290, Heavy Vehicle Use Tax Return, can be found at the IRS Web site: www.irs.gov/instructions/i2290/index.html.
  • Phone support from the IRS is available Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST, at 866-699-4096 (toll free) within the United States, and a list of offices can be found at the IRS Web site: www.irs.gov/localcontacts.

CONTACT

If you have any questions or need any additional information, please contact your local Vehicle Titles and Registration Division Regional Office. You may also contact John Poole III, Special Registration Branch Supervisor, at (512) 374-5274.

In some cases the Registration and Title Bulletins (RTB) contain attachments. If you require a copy of the original signed RTB and the attachments, please e-mail us and include the RTB number. Repeat requests are subject to charges in accordance with Open Record policies. A subscription service is also available for an annual fee of $250. Subscribers will automatically

Copyright © 2014 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731