skip to main content

045-12 Owner Retained and Rebuilt Salvage Title Requirements for Non-Titled Trailers and Semitrailers

Registration and Title Bulletin - #045-12

Date: December 07, 2012


All County Tax Assessor-Collectors


Owner Retained and Rebuilt Salvage Title Requirements for Non-Titled Trailers and Semitrailers

These documents contain text of correspondence sent by TxDMV to the county tax assessor-collectors, statutory agents who provide vehicle registration and titling services for citizens in Texas. This information is provided to apprise the general public of issues affecting the state's vehicle titling and registration process.


To notify you of a policy change regarding owner retained non-titled trailer and semitrailer procedures for properly branding a salvaged trailer or semitrailer.


Effective immediately, the department will begin placing legal restraints (OR #) and salvage brands on owner retained non-titled trailer and semitrailer records upon receiving insurance provider or self-insured notification. Previously, the department did not brand non-titled trailers and semitrailers with salvage brands or place owner retained legal restraints.

Farm semitrailers that have a gross weight of more than 4,000 pounds but not more than 34,000 pounds are not required to be titled, but may be titled at the owner’s discretion. Semitrailers and trailers with a gross weight of 4,000 pounds or less are not required to be titled by law.

The new policy and procedures for non-titled trailers and semitrailers are:

  1. All non-titled trailers and semitrailers - Owner retained non-titled trailers and semitrailers will be branded with an owner retained notation and a legal restraint will be placed on the vehicle record upon receipt of the Owner Retained Report, Form VTR-436, from an insurance company. If the owner wishes to register the vehicle, they will be required to submit a Rebuilt Vehicle Statement, Form VTR-61, but will not be required to pay the $65 Rebuilt Salvage Fee or obtain an inspection. According to statute, the rebuilt fee applies only to titled vehicles. The VTR-61 will be faxed to the Title Control Services (TCS) Section who will remove the legal restraint and replace it with the Rebuilt Salvage brand that will be carried forward on all future transactions.
  2. Optional titling of farm semitrailers 4,001 - 34,000 pounds - If the new owner qualifies for farm plates and chooses to apply for title, they must submit:
    • Properly assigned evidence of ownership
    • Application for Texas Certificate of Title, Form 130-U
    • Rebuilt Vehicle Statement, Form VTR-61
    • $65 Rebuilt Salvage Fee – Rebuilt Salvage brand must be selected
    • $28/$33 Title Application Fee
    • All other applicable fees

This process will also apply if a previously non-titled farm semitrailer is sold to a purchaser who does not qualify as a farmer and must obtain a title.


When processing transactions involving trailers and semitrailers with legal restraints due to an owner retained or salvage brand, ensure that the record is branded appropriately and that the required documentation is submitted to headquarters for each situation as listed above. Process the transaction by overriding the legal restraint on the record. For non-titled trailer and semitrailer transactions, fax the completed Form VTR-61 to TCS at 512-302-2111.


If you need additional information, please contact your local TxDMV Regional Service Center.


Copyright © 2018 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731