
Military Packet to 
Title and Register Your Vehicle 

To transfer your vehicle to Texas follow the steps outlined below. Forms and instructions to follow: 

Step 1. Complete an enclosed VIN Self-Certification (Form VTR-272-B) or obtain a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) issued 
by a vehicle inspection station. 

Step 2. Obtain insurance meeting the state's minimum requirements. 

Step 3. Provide proof of military service or Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) along with a copy of your current 
government issued photo identification. 

Step 4. Complete an Application for Texas Title, Form 130-U (enclosed). 

Step 5. If you are applying for a Texas title and registration you will also need: 
a. The current title or Manufacturer Certificate of Origin (if a new unregistered vehicle).

If you are applying for registration purposes only (no title will be issued) you will also need: 
a. Your current out of state registration, and
b. An Application for Registration Purposes Only, Form VTR-272 (enclosed).

Step 6. Because we all enjoy the Texas roads and scenery, each vehicle registered in Texas pays fees. 

Fees 
Fees will include: 

 New resident tax $90.00 or 6.25% sales tax 
 Registration fee for passenger car or truck (6,000 lbs. and less) $50.75 
 Title application fee $28.00 or $33.00 
 Local and county fees $0 - $21.50 (varies by county) 
 Automation fee $1.00 
 DPS electronic insurance verification fee $1.00 
 State portion of the vehicle inspection fee $2.75 - $22 (varies by county, vehicle type and vehicle use) 

Since fees vary by county, be sure to check with your county for specific amounts. County tax office information is available 
online at www.txdmv.gov/tax-assessor-collectors/county-tax-offices/.  

Taxes 
If you are a Texas resident and have not previously paid Texas sales tax on the vehicle, you will pay either a 
6.25 % sales tax or the difference of the full sales tax previously paid to another state. For used vehicles the value of the 
vehicle will be determined at the county and is based on the Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) of the vehicle or sales 
price (whichever is higher). An SPV calculator is available on our home page at www.TxDMV.gov. More information can be 
obtained by calling the State Comptroller's office at (800) 252-1382 or by visiting www.window.state.tx.us. 

More Important Information 
To allow someone to register and title on your behalf, you can provide a Power of Attorney to Transfer a Motor Vehicle, 
Form VTR-271 (enclosed) in addition to the required paperwork. 

http://www.txdmv.gov/tax-assessor-collectors/county-tax-offices/
http://www.txdmv.gov/
http://www.window.state.tx.us/
http://www.window.state.tx.us/


Insurance 
Texas law requires the following minimum amounts of coverage on your vehicle: 

 $30,000 bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident 
 $60,000 bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, with a $30,000 limit for one person 
 $25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident 

"No fault" insurance is not considered valid proof of financial responsibility in Texas. However, proof of financial 
responsibility from out of state or out of country is acceptable if the insurance company is licensed to do business in Texas 
and reflects the above minimum amounts. 

Safety Inspections 
Every vehicle registered in Texas must pass an annual safety inspection. Some counties also have emissions testing 
requirements. Please check with your county for requirements. 

Texas approved inspection stations conduct vehicle inspections and VIN verifications. Many mechanics, repair facilities, 
and full-service stations are approved to perform the inspections. Look for the state inspection sign at their place of 
business. For more information, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) at (512) 424-7293 or visit their 
website at www.txdps.state.tx.us. You will need to present valid proof of liability insurance in order to receive your VIR. 

Importing Vehicles 
Your vehicle must meet the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) established by the National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration. Information on the safety standards can be found at  
http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/CARS/RULES/IMPORT/. More information concerning duty or other customs matters is available 
from the U.S. Customs and Border Protection, http://www.cbp.gov/. Military personnel are not required to complete a Form 
VTR-68-A. 

A certified English translation of any document printed in any language other than English must be provided. 

To title and register your vehicle the following is required: To register your vehicle the following is required: 

VIN Self-Certification, Form VTR-272-B or VIR VIN Self-Certification, Form VTR-272-B or VIR 

Proof of Insurance Proof of Insurance 

Proof of military service or Leave and Earnings Proof of military service or Leave and Earnings 
Statement (LES) Statement (LES) 

A copy of your current government issued photo I.D. A copy of your current government issued photo I.D. 

An Application for Texas Title, Form 130-U An Application for Texas Title, Form 130-U 

The current title (or MCO if a new unregistered vehicle) The current out of state registration 

If importing from another country a USDOT Form HS-7 Application for Registration Purposes Only, Form 
and US Customs, Form CBP 7501 (or other acceptable 
evidence) 
 

VTR-272 

   _____Fees       ______Fees 

http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/
http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/CARS/RULES/IMPORT/
http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/CARS/RULES/IMPORT/
http://www.cbp.gov/
http://www.cbp.gov/
http://www.cbp.gov/


Vehicle Identification Number Self-Certification 

Qualifying Texas residents with vehicles located outside the State of Texas may complete this self- 
certification form in lieu of a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) when applying for a negotiable Texas title. 

Submit additional documentation as indicated below, if required. 

Select applicable box: 
Recreational vehicle owner with vehicle 
temporarily out-of-state 
• Attach valid proof of Texas residency. Acceptable

documents include a property tax receipt, utility 
statement, etc. 

Apportioned vehicle out-of-state 
• Indicate current apportioned account number:

Military personnel located out-of-state 
• Attach a copy of current military orders or signed

statement from the Provost Marshall. 

Student located out-of-state 
• Attach verification of current student status.

Acceptable documents include a tuition receipt, 
enrollment form, student identification card, etc. 

Official serving in the U.S. Congress 
• No additional documentation is required.

Title only applicant 
• Attach Form VTR-131, Application for Title Only,

and valid proof of Texas residency such as a 
property tax receipt, utility statement, etc. 

Date of Inspection State or Jurisdiction Outside Texas Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) 

Year Model Vehicle Make Vehicle Owner Name 

I certify the following: 

• I have made a physical inspection of the vehicle described above and found the permanent identification number to be as
indicated above.

• At the time this vehicle is being registered in Texas, the vehicle is not located in Texas and is exempt from the safety
inspection provisions of the Texas Certificate of Title Act (Transportation Code, §501.030) for the reason checked above.

• I am aware that a VIR issued by a state appointed safety inspection station will be required when the vehicle is operated in
Texas. Failure to comply may result in a “Verify Inspection” remark being placed on the vehicle record for law enforcement
purposes until a Texas inspection can be obtained.

Printed Name of Owner or Agent Signature of Owner or Agent 

VTR-272-B Rev 03/15 Online Form at www.TxDMV.gov 

State law makes falsifying information on any document required by the department a third degree felony. 

http://www.txdmv.gov/


Form 130-U (Rev 07/2015) Online Form at www.TxDMV.gov Page 1 of 2 

APPLICATION FOR TEXAS TITLE 
TYPE OR PRINT NEATLY IN INK 

TAX OFFICE USE ONLY 
Tax Collector: County: 
Date: Transaction Number: 

Standard Presumptive Value 
SPV $ 

Appraisal Value $ 

1. Vehicle Identification Number 2. Year 3. Make 4. Body Style 5. Model 6. Major Color 7. Minor Color 

8. Plate No. 9. Odometer Reading (no tenths) 10. This is the Actual mileage unless one of the following is checked: Exempt 
N- Not Actual Mileage (WARNING-ODOMETER DISCREPANCY) X- Mileage Exceeds Mechanical Limits 

11. Empty Weight 12. Carrying Capacity (if any) 13. For corrected title, check reason(s):
Make Body Style Model Change in Vehicle Description VIN Year 
Add Lien Remove Lien Other Odometer Reading Odometer Brand 

14. Applicant Type Individual Business Government Trust Non-Profit 
First Applicant/Owner Photo ID Number or FEIN/EIN 

15. ID Type U.S. Driver's License/ID Card 
U.S. Military ID NATO ID 

(State/Territory) Passport (Country) 
Other Military Status of Forces Photo ID 

U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services/DOJ ID 
16a. Applicant/Owner Legal Name 

U.S. Department of State ID U.S. Department of Homeland Security ID 

First Middle Last Suffix (if any) 

16b. Entity Name 17. Owner County of Residence 

18. Additional Owner Name (if applicable) 
First Middle Last Suffix (if any) 

19. Mailing Address City State Zip 

20. Previous Owner Name/Business Name City State Dealer GDN (if applicable) Unit No.(if applicable) 

21. Renewal Recipient Name (if different) 
First Middle Last Suffix (if any) 

22. Renewal Mailing Address (if different) City State Zip 

23. Vehicle Location Address (if different) City State Zip 

24. First Lien Date 25. Lienholder Name (first) 26. Certified Lienholder ID No. 27. Electronic Title Request? (Cannot check # 28) 

29. Lienholder Mailing Address City 
28. Additional Lien(s)? 

State 
(Attach Form VTR-267) 

Zip 

30. Check only if applicable: MOTOR VEHICLE TAX STATEMENT 

I hold Motor Vehicle Retailer's (Rental) Permit No. and will satisfy the minimum tax liability (V.A.T.S., Tax Code, §152.046 [c]). 
I am a dealer or lessor and qualify to take the Fair Market Value Deduction (V.A.T.S., Tax Code, §152.002 [c]). GDN or Lessor Number 

31. Trade-in (if any)  Vehicle Identification Number Year Make 32. Additional Trade-ins?

33. 
(a) Sales Price($ rebate has been deducted)$ 

SALES AND USE TAX COMPUTATION 
$90 New Resident Tax - (Previous State) 

(b) Less Trade-in Amount, described in Item 31 above $( 
(c) For Dealers/Lessors/Rental ONLY - Fair Market Value 

) $5 Even Trade Tax 
$10 Gift Tax - Use Comptroller Form 14-317 

Deduction, described in Item 31 above 
(d) Taxable Amount (Item a minus Item b or Item c) 

$( ) 
$  

$65 Rebuilt Salvage Fee 
2.5% Emissions Fee (Diesel Vehicles 1996 and Older > 14,000 lbs.) 

(e) 6.25% Tax on Taxable Amount (Multiply Item d by .0625) $  1% Emissions Fee (Diesel Vehicles 1997 and Newer > 14,000 lbs.) 
(f) Late Tax Payment Penalty 5% or 10% $ Exemption claimed under the Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax Law because: 
(g) Tax Paid to (STATE) $ 
(h) AMOUNT OF TAX AND PENALTY DUE 

(Item e plus Item f minus Item g) $ $28 or $33 Application Fee for Texas Title 
(Contact your county tax assessor-collector for the correct fee.) 

34. 

35. 

I Hereby Certify That All Statements In This Document Are True And Correct To The Best Of My Knowledge And Belief. 

Signature of Seller, Donor, or Trader Printed Name (Same as Signature) Date 

36. 

Signature of Additional Seller(s), Donor(s), or Trader(s) Printed Name(s) (Same as Signature(s)) Date 

37. 

Signature of Applicant/Owner Printed Name (Same as Signature) 

Signature of Additional Owner(s) Printed Name(s) (Same as Signature(s)) 

Date 

Date 

WARNING: Transportation Code, §501.155, provides that falsifying information on title transfer documents is a third-degree felony offense. 

http://www.txdmv.gov/


Form 130-U (Rev 07/2015) Online Form at www.TxDMV.gov Page 2 of 2 

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 
APPLICATION FOR TEXAS TITLE 

With a few exceptions, you are entitled to be informed about the information the department collects about you. The 
Texas Government Code entitles you to receive and review the information on request and to request that the 
department correct any information about you that is deemed incorrect. Please contact the Texas Department of 
Motor Vehicles at 1-888-368-4689 or 512-465-3000 for details. 

NOTICE 

The sales and use tax must be paid to the county tax assessor-collector within 30 days from the date of purchase or entry of 
the vehicle into Texas. A $2.50 fee for transfer of current registration is due in addition to the title application fees and other 
applicable fees. If not currently registered, registration fees will be due. 

A 6.25 percent motor vehicle sales or use tax is imposed on the sales price (less trade-in allowance) of motor vehicles for 
use in Texas or a motor vehicle purchased outside of the state and later brought into this state by a Texas resident. 

Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) applies to private-party sales of most used motor vehicles purchased or brought into 
Texas. The tax is computed on the greater of the sales price or 80 percent of the SPV on the day of title application. 

New Texas residents are subject to a $90 use tax on a vehicle brought into this state that was previously registered to the 
new resident in another state or foreign country. This is in lieu of the 6.25 percent use tax imposed on a Texas resident. 

There is a $10 gift tax when a person receives a motor vehicle as a gift from an immediate family member, guardian, or a 
decedent's estate. A vehicle donated to, or given by, a nonprofit service organization qualifying under IRC 501(c)(3) is also 
taxed as a gift. Both donor and recipient must sign the Comptroller's joint affidavit Form 14-317, Affidavit of Motor Vehicle 
Gift Transfer. The affidavit and the title application must be submitted in person by either the donor or recipient. 

A transaction in which a motor vehicle is transferred to another person without payment of consideration and one that does 
not qualify as a gift described above is a sale and will be subject to tax calculated on the vehicle's standard presumptive 
value. 

A late penalty equal to 5 percent of the tax will be charged if the tax or surcharge is paid from 1 to 30 calendar days late. If 
more than 30 calendar days late, the penalty will be 10 percent of the tax, minimum penalty is $1. 

In addition to the late tax payment penalty, Texas Transportation Code provides for an escalating delinquent transfer penalty 
of up to $250 for failure to apply for title within 30 days from the date of title assignment. Submit this application along with 
proper evidence of ownership and appropriate valid proof of financial responsibility such as a liability insurance card or 
policy. 

All new residents applying for a Texas title and registration for a motor vehicle must file at the county tax assessor-collector 
of the county in Texas where the applicant resides within 30 days of establishing residency. Texas law requires that all 
vehicles previously registered and titled or registered in another state or country be inspected for safety and the vehicle 
identification number verified before such vehicles may be registered in Texas. These inspections must be made by a state 
appointed safety inspection station that will complete a Texas Vehicle Inspection Report. This form must be submitted to the 
county tax assessor-collector with your application for registration and Texas title. 

This form must be completed and submitted to your county tax assessor-collector accompanied by any required application 
fee, supporting documents, registration fee, if applicable, and any motor vehicle tax due. An application form may be 
reproduced or faxed. A completed form must contain the original signature of the buyer. The seller's signature may be 
reproduced or faxed. All title applications must include one of the government-issued photo IDs listed in Item 15. 
Rights of Survivorship (Optional) - Two or more persons may enter into a rights of survivorship agreement. It is not 
restricted to spouses. Please use Form VTR-122, Rights of Survivorship Ownership Agreement for a Motor Vehicle. 

AVAILABLE HELP 
• For assistance in completing this form, contact your county tax assessor-collector.
• For information about motor vehicle sales and use tax or emission fees, contact the Texas Comptroller of Public

Accounts, Tax Assistance Section, at 1-800-252-1382 toll free nationwide or call 512-463-4600.
• For title or registration information, contact your county tax assessor-collector or the Texas Department of Motor

Vehicles at 1-888-368-4689 or 512-465-3000.

http://www.txdmv.gov/


Form VTR-130-UIF (Rev 03/15) Online Form at www.TxDMV.gov Page 1 of 2 

Detailed Instructions for Form 130-U, Application for Texas Title 
Refer to the certificate of title assigned to you by the seller for vehicle information/description. 

1. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN): Found on the certificate of title and also stamped or affixed on the vehicle frame
[i.e., driver side door frame, dashboard (facing windshield), or on engine block on 1955 vehicles and prior models].

2. Year: The model year of the vehicle (e.g., 2011, 2004, etc.).

3. Make: Brand of vehicle designated by the manufacturer (e.g., Chevrolet, Ford, Toyota, etc.).

4. Body Style: Description of vehicle (e.g., 2D = 2-door Sedan, CP = coupe, PK = pickup, etc.).
For more abbreviations see Form VTR-249, Standard Abbreviations for Vehicle Makes and Body Styles.

5. Model: Vehicle model designated by the manufacturer (e.g., Silverado, F-150, Prius, etc.).

6. Major Color: If vehicle has one color, enter it in this field. For a vehicle with more than one color, the Major Color is the
primary color that covers most, if not all, of the vehicle.

7. Minor Color: If the vehicle has more than one color, the predominant color must be shown as the Major Color and the
secondary color as the Minor Color (e.g., standard two-toned vehicles, custom paint job, etc.).

8. Plate No.: License plate number, if available.

9. Odometer Reading: Current mileage on the vehicle odometer in whole numbers - no tenths (not required on vehicles 10
or more model years old).

10. Odometer Brand: The seller/agent is required by law to record the odometer reading at the time of sale. The brand, A-
Actual (mileage shown), N-Not Actual (broken or replaced odometer), or X-Mileage Exceeds Mechanical Limits, indicated
by the seller/agent on the odometer disclosure should be recorded on the application. In situations involving operation of
law (bonded titles, court order, repossessions, seized vehicles, etc.), the title applicant provides the odometer reading and
brand. This statement is not needed on a vehicle that is 10 or more model years old, has a manufacturer's rated carrying
capacity of two tons or greater or gross vehicle weight rating of more than 16,000 pounds, is sold by the manufacturer
directly to an agency of the United States government, is not self-propelled, or is a new motor vehicle prior to its transfer to
the first retail purchaser.

11. Empty Weight: Weight (in pounds) of the vehicle without a load, rounded up to the next 100 pounds.

12. Carrying Capacity: Weight (in pounds) determined by the heaviest load the vehicle is legally allowed to carry according
to the vehicle manufacturer.

13. For Corrected Title: Indicate the appropriate reason (e.g., Change in Vehicle Description -VIN, Year, etc.; Remove Lien;
etc.).

14. Applicant Type: Whether the applicant is an individual, business, government entity, trust, or non-profit. Also, the photo
ID number of the individual or the FEIN/EIN of the business, government entity, trust, or non-profit.

15. ID Type: The photo ID type and state, territory, or country of the individual applicant.

16a. Applicant/Owner Legal Name: If the applicant/owner is a person, their legal name (First Name, Middle Name, Last 
Name, and Suffix, if any). 

16b. Entity Name: The legal name of the applicant/owner if a business, government entity, trust, or non-profit. 

17. Owner County of Residence: The county of legal residence for the individual, business, government entity, trust, or non-
profit.

18. Additional Owner Name: The legal name (First Name, Middle Name, Last Name, and Suffix, if any) of any additional
applicant/owner.

19. Mailing Address: The mailing address of the applicant/owner.

20. Previous Owner Name/Business Name: The seller's name, city, and state indicated on the assigned title or other
evidence of ownership being surrendered with the Form 130-U. Dealer GDN Dealer's General Distinguishing Number
assigned by the state. Unit No. Applies to vehicles that are purchased as part of a fleet.

21. Renewal Recipient Name: The legal name (First Name, Middle Name, Last Name, and Suffix, if any) of the renewal
recipient if different from the applicant/owner.

22. Renewal Mailing Address: The mailing address of the renewal recipient if different from the applicant/owner.

23. Vehicle Location Address: The physical address of the vehicle if not the same as the mailing address.

http://www.txdmv.gov/


Form VTR-130-UIF (Rev 03/15) Online Form at www.TxDMV.gov Page 2 of 2 

Detailed Instructions for Form 130-U, Application for Texas Title 

24. First Lien Date: If applicable, the date a security agreement was signed with any financial institution/individual for the
financing of the vehicle.

25. Lienholder Name: The lienholder's name. If there is no lien, indicate “NONE.”

26. Certified Lienholder ID No.: Enter the 11-digit Certified Lienholder Identification Number here (required if #27 is
checked).

27. Electronic Title Request?: If the lienholder in #25 requests an electronic title, check the box in #27 and enter the
Certified Lienholder ID Number in #26. (If #27 is checked, then #28 cannot be checked.)

28. Additional Lien(s)?: If another lien exists in addition to #24, check the box and attach Form VTR-267.

29. Lienholder Mailing Address: The mailing address of the first lienholder, if any.

30. Check Only If Applicable Motor Vehicle Tax Statement: For Rental, Dealer, and/or Leasing Company use. Rental
Companies must include their Rental Permit Number. Dealers must include their General Distinguishing Number (GDN).
Lessors must include their Lessor Number.

31. Trade In: Description of vehicle traded in, if any, on the purchase.

32. Additional Trade-ins?: Indicate if trade included any vehicle(s) other than shown in #31.

33. Sales and Use Tax Computation: Sales and use tax must be paid. Indicate the vehicle sales price in the second space
provided on Line (a). Rebates are only applicable for new vehicles sold by a dealership to a retail purchaser. 33(f) provides
for a late tax payment penalty of 5% or 10% of the amount in (e). Check the appropriate box if you are a new resident
to Texas, obtained the vehicle as an even trade or as a gift, or you are applying for a rebuilt salvage vehicle.
The $10 gift tax option may be used when a person receives a vehicle as a gift from an immediate family member,
guardian, decedent's estate, or nonprofit service organization qualifying under Internal Revenue Code, Sec.501(c)(3). Both
the donor and the gift recipient must sign the Comptroller's joint affidavit, Form 14-317, Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Gift
Transfer. The title application must be accompanied by the Comptroller's joint affidavit and must be filed in person by either
the recipient or donor. If the vehicle is subject to the diesel emissions surcharge fee, compute the percentage
(2.5% OR 1%) of the fee based on the Taxable Amount shown in (d). This fee is due in addition to the amount of tax due
shown in (h). If claiming a tax exemption, provide a brief explanation for the reason.

34. Seller, Donor, or Trader: The signature, printed name, and date of signature of the seller, donor, or trader of the vehicle
indicated on the title or other transfer of ownership document.

35. Additional Seller(s), Donor(s), or Trader(s): The signature(s), printed name(s), and date of signature(s) of any
additional seller(s), donor(s), or trader(s) of the vehicle indicated on the title or other transfer of ownership document.

36. Applicant/Owner: The signature, printed name, and date of signature of the applicant/owner of the vehicle indicated on
the title or other transfer of ownership.

37. Additional Owner(s): The signature(s), printed name(s), and date of signature(s) of any additional owner(s) of the
vehicle indicated on the title or other transfer of ownership document.

The completed Application for Texas Title, properly assigned title, and proof of insurance in the title applicant's
name are required to be filed in the county where the sale occurred, where the lienholder is located, or
applicant's county of residence within 30 days of the date of sale. Payment of title, registration, and sales tax
fees are required when application for certificate of title is filed.

Refer to the back of the Form 130-U for phone numbers and additional information concerning fees, taxes, and
penalties.

http://www.txdmv.gov/


FORM VTR-272 Page 1 of 2 Online Form at www.txdmv.gov 

Application for 
Registration Purposes Only 

For vehicles titled outside Texas that are to be registered in Texas 

VTR-272 
(Rev. 11/09) 
Page 1 of 2 

Do not surrender an original out-of-state title with this application. 

Submit the completed application, a photocopy of proof of liability insurance, and other applicable documentation (see page 2), to your local 
county tax assessor-collector’s office. A list of county tax offices may be found at our Web site:  www.txdmv.gov. 

NOTE: A Texas certificate of title will not be issued for the vehicle described below. The receipt issued upon filing this application will 
serve as your registration receipt and proof of application for registration only. 

APPLICANT INFORMATION - Type or print only
Last Name First Name Middle Initial 

Address City State Zip Code 

Day Phone E-mail 

Name of Lienholder (as shown on Out-of-State Title) Lienholder Address 

City State Zip Code 

VEHICLE AND TITLE INFORMATION 
Out of State Plate State of Issuance Year Make Body Style 

Vehicle Identification Number Out-of-State Title Number Title issued by State/Country of 

AFFIDAVIT - State law makes falsifying information on this application a third-degree felony.

My signature indicates the information above is true and correct. 

Owner/Agent Signature Date 

Check if the vehicle is located outside Texas, is eligible for registration and you confirmed the Vehicle Identification No. 

IMPORTANT: Self-certification of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) is allowed for military personnel, students 
and owners of apportioned vehicles if a VIN verification form issued by a Texas state-approved safety inspection station 
is not included with the submission of this application.  See page 2 for more information. I declare that: 
 In making this self-certification, I physically inspected the vehicle described above and found the permanent Vehicle 

Identification Number to be as indicated on this application. 
 At the time this vehicle is being registered in Texas, the vehicle is not located in Texas, and is exempt from the 

Safety Inspection requirements of Texas. 
 I am submitting a photocopy of my evidence of ownership to verify that I am the vehicle owner, or authorized agent of 

the vehicle owner. Mark the photocopied evidence as a “COPY”. 

FOREIGN VEHICLE - If you have imported the vehicle, check all that apply:

I declare the above described vehicle on which I am requesting issuance of Registration Purposes Only qualifies 
under the following provisions as referenced by the attached DOT Form HS-7 or U.S. Customs Form CF7501: 

Vehicle is 25 or more years old. 
Vehicle complies with all Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards. 
Vehicle was imported into the United States for a temporary period by a nonresident, does not conform to 
the Federal Motor Vehicle Standards, and cannot be sold in the U.S. VALID FOR ONE REGISTRATION 
PERIOD ONLY. 
Vehicle was imported into the U.S. by a member of the armed forces of a foreign country on assignment in 
the U.S., does not conform to Federal Motor Vehicle Standards, and cannot be sold in the U.S. 
Other. 

Instructions on page 2 for military, students, and owners of apportioned and foreign vehicles. 

http://www.txdmv.gov/
http://www.txdmv.gov/


FORM VTR-272 Page 2 of 2 Online Form at www.txdmv.gov 

VTR-272 (Rev. 12/08) 
Page 2 of 2 Instructions 

Foreign Vehicle 
 Owners of foreign vehicles brought into Texas must submit U.S. Customs Form HS-7 or CF 7501 to apply 

for Registration Purposes Only. 
 Check the appropriate box(es) in the Foreign Vehicle section on page 1 if you imported the vehicle. 

Vehicle Identification Number Verification 

This application must be accompanied by a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) verification form issued 
by a Texas state-approved safety inspection station, or confirmation of self-certification of the VIN (on page 1 
of application) for the following transactions: 

Military personnel located outside Texas 

Active duty military personnel who are Texas residents with stations located outside Texas may use this form for 
self-certification of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), in lieu of the VIN verification form, if: 

 The vehicle is located outside Texas, and 
 The form is verified by the Provost Marshal. If the form is not verified by the Provost Marshal, you 

must provide verification that the applicant is currently stationed outside Texas. Verification may 
consist of military orders, etc., that indicate the current duty station of the applicant. 

Students located outside Texas 

Texas residents who are students located outside Texas may use this form for self-certification of the Vehicle 
Identification Number (VIN), in lieu of the VIN verification form, if: 
 The vehicle is located outside Texas, and 
 You provide verification that the applicant is a student currently enrolled in an accredited college 

or university outside Texas. Verification may consist of a tuition receipt, enrollment form, 
student identification card, etc., that confirms current enrollment. 

Apportioned Vehicle 

This self-certification form may be used by the owner of an apportioned vehicle. Submit the completed 
application, photocopy of proof of liability insurance, and any other applicable documentation. 

 Commercial vehicle owners must submit a weight certificate. 

Submit this application to your County Tax Assessor-Collector, with all supporting 
documentation, appropriate fees and completed Form 130-U. 

http://www.txdmv.gov/


This is to certify that I, 

of the County of 

Power of Attorney to Transfer Motor Vehicle 

• No alterations allowed
• Complete all sections online or on printed form
• Print in blue or black ink, signature must be in blue or black ink

Type or Print Legal Name of Owner: First Middle Last (and suffix, if any) 

and the State of Texas, owner of the following described motor vehicle, do make, constitute and appoint: 

Type or Print Legal Name: First Middle Last (suffix, if any) 

of the County of and the State of , my true and lawful attorney, 
  

for me and in my name, place and stead to title, and to allow my attorney the authority to substitute, as it pertains to the motor 
vehicle described as follows: 

Year Make Body Style Model License Plate Number 

Vehicle Identification N umber Title / Document Number 

This completed and signed form grants my attorney full power and authority to do and perform all and every act necessary to 
transfer and assign the legal title to the motor vehicle described, or to purchase and apply for a title to anyone who my attorney 
may substitute. 

NOTE:  This form must be properly completed before it is an acceptable document. The power of attorney cannot be 
granted to the selling or buying dealer, an employee of the dealer, or relative of the dealer, unless the vehicle is 
exempt from the odometer disclosure law (i.e., the year model is ten or more years old, the carrying capacity exceeds 
18,000 lbs., or the vehicle is not self-propelled). This form may be used in a dealer sale if a disinterested third party is 
appointed. A disinterested third party is defined as an individual with no relationship to the dealer or dealership. 

If a Power of Attorney is used to apply for title, initial registration, or a certified copy of title, the person(s) signing must include a 
photocopy of their photo identification, as required by state law. 

I further certify that the current odometer reading is 
(No Tenths) 

miles and to the best of my 

knowledge the odometer reading is the ACTUAL mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following statements is checked: 

1. The mileage stated is in EXCESS of its mechanical limits.

2. The odometer reading is NOT the actual mileage.  WARNING - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY 

Type or Print Legal Name of Owner: First Middle Last (suffix, if any) 

Signature of Owner 

Mailing Address City State Zip 

Date 

Form VTR-271 Rev 10/13 Online Form at www.TxDMV.gov 

State law makes falsifying information on this application a third-degree felony. 

http://www.txdmv.gov/
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