skip to main content

023-13 Legislative Changes for Disabled Parking Placards

Registration and Title Bulletin - #023-13

Date: August 26, 2013

To: All County Tax Assessor-Collectors

Subject: Legislative Changes for Disabled Parking Placards

PURPOSE

The purpose of this bulletin is to notify Tax Assessor-Collectors and Law Enforcement of legislative changes affecting disabled parking placards.

DETAILS

Chapter 681 of the Texas Transportation Code was amended by HB 2741, effective September 2013, for:

  • Out-of-State/Out-of-Country Applicants. Non-Texas residents seeking medical treatment in Texas will be allowed to apply for a six-month disabled placard. The same application process and qualifying requirements that currently apply to Texas residents will apply to non-residents. If the person‘s disability is permanent, there is no charge for the placard; if the disability is temporary, the charge is $5. If the six-month placard expires before medical treatment ends, the customer must apply again and submit a new Form VTR-214.
  • Destruction of the Placard upon Law Enforcement Seizure. Upon seizure, and a determination that probable cause existed to believe a disabled placard was unlawfully used, law enforcement officers must destroy the placard not later than the fifth day after the date of seizure, and notify the TxDMV. Prior to this change, law enforcement was required to submit seized placards to the TxDMV in Austin.

COUNTY ACTION

Out-of-State Applicants. Issue (red) six-month placards to persons from out-of-state seeking medical treatment in Texas, upon receipt of a completed Form VTR-214. Determine whether the applicant‘s disability is permanent or temporary. If the disability is permanent, county employees must de-select the RTS “Charge Fee” indicator box on the “Add New Disabled Placard” MRG025 screen so that no fee is charged. If temporary, a fee of $5 should be charged.

Law Enforcement Placard Seizures. In case of questions from customers, counties should be aware that seized placards will now be destroyed, and therefore cannot be returned to the customer. If a customer‘s eligibility is re-established, the TxDMV in Austin will instruct them, by letter, to obtain a new placard from their local County Tax Assessor-Collector‘s office.

LAW ENFORCEMENT ACTION

Law Enforcement Placard Seizures. Destroy seized placards and then notify the TxDMV Consumer Relations Division by email or fax of the following:

  • Placard holder‘s name and address;
  • An image of the seized placard, if available (at a minimum, submit clearly legible placard number);
  • A copy of the citation issued under Transportation Code, Sec. 681.011(a) or (d) with clearly legible citation or case number; and
  • A brief summary of the events giving rise to the citation.

Email address – This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (Please put the word “Placard” in subject line.)
Fax number – (512) 302-2162.

CONTACT

If you have any questions, please contact your local TxDMV Regional Service Center.

 

Copyright © 2014 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731