
 
 

TxDMV IMPACTS 
BILL 

NUMBER 
EFFECTIVE 

DATE DESCRIPTION 

HB 2202 9/1/2013 TxDMV Account Bill.   
This bill directs the state’s portions of some fees to an account for TxDMV outside of 
the State Highway Fund.  It also provides for the modification of existing fees and 
establishment of new fees as determined by the TxDMV Board through Texas 
Administrative Rule.  Further communications will be sent on any rules proposals and 
implementation guidelines in regards to this bill. 

HB 2741 Immediate; 
9/1/2013 

TxDMV Clean-Up Bill.   
Multiple sections of Transportation Code Chapters 501, 502, 504, 520, 621, and 681 
are amended.  Clarifies and refines existing statute.  Effective immediately in this bill: 
• Delinquent Title Transfer Penalty: The Delinquent Transfer Penalty fee is capped 

at $250.  Refer to RTB #16-13. 
More detailed communications will be sent as the remaining sections of this bill 
become effective and are implemented. 
Of note, trailers 4000 lbs. or less may be titled as of September 1, 2013. 

 
 

REGISTRATION   

BILL 
NUMBER 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE DESCRIPTION 

HB 719 Immediate Golf Cart and Utility Vehicle Plates and Operation. 
• The bill requires the TxDMV Board to create Texas Administrative Rules no later 

than 12/31/2013 that establishes procedures for issuance of golf cart specialty 
plates; the department may charge a fee up to $10.   

• Transportation Code 551.404 is amended by granting certain counties the option 
to allow operation of a golf cart or utility vehicle on a public road.   

• Eligible counties: Aransas, Archer, Armstrong, Baylor, Bowie, Briscoe, Calhoun, 
Carson, Castro, Childress, Clay, Collingsworth, Cook, Cottle, Deaf Smith, 
Dickens, Donley, Fannin, Floyd, Foard, Gray, Grayson, Hall, Hardeman, 
Hemphill, King, Knox, Lamar, Montague, Motley, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, 
Randall, Red River, Roberts, Swisher, Wheeler, Wichita, and Wilbarger.    

• Transportation Code 504.510, Golf Cart License Plates, is repealed. 
HB 2305 9/1/2013; 

3/1/2014; 
3/1/2015 

Single Registration/Inspection Sticker. 
• Eliminates inspection sticker.   
• Tax Assessor-Collector’s office will verify inspection via TxDPS database or with 

printed inspection certificate prior to issuance of registration.     
• The state's portion of the inspection fee will be collected at time of registration.   
• Vehicle owner must have inspection within 90 days prior to registration 

expiration.   
• Vehicles sold by dealer must be inspected in the 180 days prior to sale of the 

vehicle. 
• Administrative Rules must be adopted by 3/1/14. 
• Implementation by 3/1/15. 

SB 1792 Immediate Toll Scofflaw. 
• Adds Transportation Code 502.011 which provides that a County or TxDMV may 

refuse to register or renew a vehicle if the owner has been determined to be a 
habitual violator (100 or more unpaid tolls in one year).   

• Tollway can be operated by TxDOT, a Regional Tollway Authority (NTTA), 
Regional Mobility Authority, or County Toll authorities. 

HB 3256 9/1/2013 Proof of Eligibility for Farm Plates. 
Transportation Code 502.146 and 502.433 are modified to require the vehicle owner 
provide a registration number issued by the Comptroller under Tax Code 151.1551 
(Reg. Number Required for Timber and Certain Agricultural Items) before a trailer or 
commercial vehicle can obtain Farm plates. 

SB1815 Immediate Voluntary Donations to the Glenda Dawson Donate Life-Texas Registry (Organ 
Donor). 
• TxDMV continues to send donations to the Comptroller.    
• $1 Organ donor to be added to IVTRS (online renewal).   
• Organ donor line to be added to face of renewal notice when notice is re-

designed. 
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  TITLE   

BILL 
NUMBER 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE DESCRIPTION 

HB 2394 Immediate Trailer Title Feasibility Study. 
• Requires a study on the feasibility of requiring titles for all trailers, semitrailers, 

and travel trailers.    
• TxDMV may use input from local governments that provide title services, auto 

theft, statewide agricultural associations, TACA, and other organizations as 
necessary.   

• Report is due by Sept 1, 2014. 
SB 0487 9/1/2013 ATV and ROV Definition Changes. 

• Transportation Codes 502.001 and 663.001 are amended to remove the seat 
type and add a maximum width to the definition of an all-terrain vehicle.   

• The bill also amends Transportation Code 502.001 to remove the seat type from 
the definition of a recreational off-highway vehicle.   

 
 

SPECIALTY PLATES 

BILL 
NUMBER 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE DESCRIPTION 

SB 1914 9/1/2013 Redesign of State Official and Texas Capitol Specialty Plates.    
• New State Official plate will be offered without the words “State Official.”  
• State Capitol plate will be re-designed with input from State Preservation Board. 

HB 1514 9/1/2013 Parking Privileges of World War II Specialty Plates. 
Adds vehicles displaying World War II specialty plates to the list of plates exempt from 
payment of parking fees collected through parking meters charged by a government 
authority, other than a branch of the federal government.   

HB 3677 9/1/2013 Foundation School Program Specialty Plate.   
Plate to be designed in consultation with Texas Education Agency (TEA).  Proceeds to 
benefit the Foundation School Program. 

 
 

DISABLED VETERANS   
BILL 

NUMBER 
EFFECTIVE 

DATE DESCRIPTION 

SB 0530 9/1/2013 Branch of Service on Disabled Veteran Plate. 
An emblem of the veteran’s branch of service, or another emblem from a license plate 
established in Transportation Codes 504.308, 504.315, or 504.316, can be added on a 
Disabled Veteran plate. 

SB 1061 Immediate Parking Privileges of Disabled Veterans. 
Transportation Code 681.008 is amended to allow vehicles with Disabled Veteran 
license plates to park for an unlimited period in a parking space or area designed for 
disabled persons on the property of institutions of higher education.   

 
 

MISCELLANEOUS/LOW IMPACT 

BILL 
NUMBER 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE DESCRIPTION 

HB 1198 
HB 1573 
HB 3126 

9/1/2013; 
1/1/2014 

Optional County Mobility Fee.   
• Modifies Transportation Code 502.402 to allow Cameron, El Paso, Webb, 

Hidalgo and Bexar Counties, to charge an optional fee up to $10 for the RMA to 
use for transportation projects. 

• Cameron County may charge up to $20 for RMA to use for transportation 
projects; subject to voter approval.  

• Collection of fee may begin January 1, 2014. 
HB 0625 9/1/2013 Operation of a Vehicle Without a License Plate. 

Re-establishes that the penalty under Transportation Code 504.945 to re-establish that 
operation of a vehicle without a license plate is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine 
not to exceed $200. 

SB 1567 9/1/2013 Coverage of Certain Persons Under an Automobile Insurance Policy.   
• "Named driver insurance policies" only cover the individual listed on the policy. 
• Individuals residing in the insured's household are not covered. 
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