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Instructions 
Submit this completed application, required documentation, and $10.00 application fee in the form of a check or money order 
payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. Do not mail cash. Credit/debit cards and temporary checks are not accepted. 
Fees are non-refundable. 

Mail to: Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
Vehicle Titles and Registration Division 
ATTN: Title Control Systems 
Austin, Texas 78779-0001 

Vehicle Information 
Vehicle Identification Number Year Make Body Style Model 

License Plate State and Number (if any) Printed Name of Owner(s) Listed on Title/Registration Verification 

Do you have possession of the vehicle? 

☐ Yes ☐ No 
Is the vehicle at least 10 years old (current year – 10)? 

☐ Yes ☐ No 
Is the vehicle in a demolished, wrecked, or dismantled condition? 

☐ Yes ☐ No 

Licensed Vehicle Storage Facility Information 
Name License Number 

Address City State Zip 

Possession/Notification Information 
Possession 

Explanation of How Possession of the Vehicle Was Acquired and Under What Authority 

Dates 
Date Vehicle Towed to Facility First Notice to Owner/Lienholder(s) Notice to Law Enforcement 

Law Enforcement Certification – Only required if evidence of law enforcement notification is unavailable 
Law Enforcement Agency Address City State Zip 

On behalf of the law enforcement authority listed, I certify the above referenced vehicle was reported abandoned by the listed licensed vehicle 
storage facility in accordance with Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 683, on the date above; no action was taken by our agency with regards to 
the above described motor vehicle within thirty days after we were notified; and understand the license vehicle storage facility is applying to the 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles for a Certificate of Authority to Dispose of a Motor Vehicle to a Demolisher for demolition, wrecking, or 
dismantling. 

Signature of Officer/Authorized Agent Printed Name (Same as Signature) Position Date 

Affidavit of Statutory Lienholder – State law makes falsifying information a third degree felony 
I, the undersigned statutory lienholder, certify the statements are true and correct, the vehicle described above was towed and left for storage, 
and the owner(s) and any applicable lienholder(s) were notified as required by statute. I also certify I have complied with all applicable provisions 
of Occupations Code, Chapter 2303; Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation regulations; and all other statutes and regulations that affect 
title transfer of a stored vehicle, and I am, therefore, applying for authority to dispose of the above described motor vehicle to a demolisher for 
demolition, wrecking, or dismantling only in accordance with state law. I understand the vehicle is prohibited from being reconstructed, made 
operable, or retitled. 

Signature of VSF’s Authorized Agent Printed Name (Same as Signature) Date 

NOTARY 
STAMP 
HERE 

Before me, a notary public, on this day personally appeared , 
known to me to be the person whose name is subscribed on this document, and being by me first duly 
sworn, declared that the statements herein contained are true and correct. 

State of Texas, County of Notary Public’s Signature Date 
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Application for Authority to Dispose of an Abandoned Nuisance Vehicle to a Demolisher
 
Information 
This application may be used only by a licensed vehicle storage facility (VSF) when the motor vehicle is an abandoned nuisance 
vehicle, as defined in Occupations Code, Chapter 2303, towed on or after September 1, 2005. 

The VSF’s possession of the vehicle must have been in conjunction with a non-consent private property or law enforcement tow, 
and the vehicle must have been taken to a VSF licensed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Provisions of the 
Vehicle Storage Facility Act do not apply to a vehicle parked or stored at a VSF with the consent of the vehicle's owner. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION – You may refer to the TxDMV Motor Vehicle Title Manual (Chapter 23). 

Procedures 
1. FIRST NOTICE (Notice to Vehicle Owner(s) or Lienholder(s)) – If the vehicle was last registered in Texas, notice must be made 

within 5 days of obtaining possession. If the vehicle was last registered outside of Texas, notice must be made within 14 days 
of obtaining possession. The first notice to the last known owner and any applicable lienholder(s) must be sent by certified 
mail, return receipt requested, or by electronic certified mail. Notice by newspaper publication may be permitted (see 
“Notification by Newspaper” below). 

2. NOTIFICATION TO LAW ENFORCEMENT – A motor vehicle is considered abandoned (Transportation Code, Section 683.031) 
after the 10th day after the First Notice was mailed or published in a newspaper if the vehicle remains unclaimed. A VSF must 
report the abandoned motor vehicle to the law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction where the vehicle is located. 

3. APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY TO DISPOSE – The VSF may apply to the department for a Certificate of 
Authority to Dispose of a Motor Vehicle beginning on the 30th day after the day the First Notice was made if the vehicle 
remains unclaimed, AND the law enforcement agency to which the vehicle was reported abandoned has not taken the vehicle 
into custody. 

Note: Notice from law enforcement of its intention to dispose of the vehicle is considered law enforcement taking custody 
even if they do not take physical custody. 
NOTIFICATION BY NEWSPAPER – In lieu of written notification by electronic or certified mail, publication of the notice in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the vehicle is stored may be used if any of the following apply: 
1. The vehicle is registered in another state. 
2. The VSF submits a written request by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the governmental entity with which the motor 

vehicle is registered requesting information relating to the identity of the last known owner(s) and any lienholder(s) of record. 
3. The identity of the last known owner of record cannot be determined. 
4. The registration does not contain an address for the last known owner of record. 
5. The identities and addresses of the lienholders of record cannot be determined. 
6. The vehicle does not display a license plate or a vehicle inspection certificate indicating the state of registration. 
Note: A VSF is not required to publish notice if a correctly addressed notice is sent with sufficient postage and is returned as 
unclaimed, refused, the forwarding order has expired, or with a notation that the addressee is unknown or has moved without 
leaving a forwarding address. The newspaper publication option is not available if a motor vehicle record is found in Texas. 

Evidence Required to Transfer Ownership 
1. Application for Authority to Dispose of an Abandoned Nuisance Vehicle to a Demolisher (Form VTR-71-6) 
2. Verification of Title and Registration – Verification of title and registration from the state of record. If not available, the 

following must be provided: 
• If a VSF sends a request for title and registration verification to the state of record (by certified mail, return receipt 

requested) and is informed by letter from that state that due to the Driver's Privacy Protection Act restrictions the state will 
forward the VSF’s notification to the owner(s) and lienholder(s) for notification purposes, then the original letter(s) from the 
state of record and certified receipts for each notification sent to that state, or 
• If notification is made by newspaper publication, proof that a correctly addressed request for the name and address of the 

last known registered owner(s) and lienholder(s) was sent to the state of record (by certified mail, return receipt requested). 
Proof consists of a copy of the request and date stamped certified return receipts for the request sent to the state of record. 

3. Proof of Notifications 
• Notices by Electronic or Certified Mail – Proof consists of the date stamped receipts for certified mail and return receipt, 

together with any unopened certified letter(s) returned as undeliverable, unclaimed, refused, or no forwarding address. 
Electronic notifications that include the same information as certified mail, showing delivery confirmation, are acceptable. 
Track and Confirm is not acceptable. 
• Notices by Newspaper Publication (only if applicable) – Proof consists of the certified mail, return receipt, sent to the state of 

record requesting verification of owner(s) and lienholder(s) AND a legible photocopy of the newspaper publication, which 
includes the name and date of the publication. 
• Notification to Law Enforcement (one of the following) – Dated receipt showing $10 administrative fee was paid; completion 

of the “Law Enforcement Certification” on page 1; or certified mail, return receipt, to the law enforcement agency. 

VTR-71-6 Rev 08/16 Form available online at www.TxDMV.gov Page 2 of 2 

http://www.txdmv.gov/
http://www.txdmv.gov/title-manual

	Vehicle Identification Number: 
	Year: 
	Make: 
	Body Style: 
	Model: 
	License Plate State and Number if any: 
	Printed Name of Owners Listed on TitleRegistration Verification: 
	Do you have possession of the vehicle: Off
	Is the vehicle at least 10 years old current year  10: Off
	Is the vehicle in a demolished wrecked or dismantled condition: Off
	Name: 
	License Number: 
	Address City State Zip: 
	Explanation of How Possession of the Vehicle Was Acquired and Under What Authority: 
	Date Vehicle Towed to Facility: 
	First Notice to OwnerLienholders: 
	Notice to Law Enforcement: 
	Law Enforcement Agency Address City State Zip: 
	Position: 
	Date: 
	Date_2: 
	State of Texas County of: 
	Date_3: 
	PrintedName2: 
	Printed Name: 
	Notary: 


